

GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: October 13, 2020

TITLE: Recognition of National Merit Scholarship Commended Students and

Semifinalists

BACKGROUND:

We are proud to recognize the following students for being National Merit Scholarship Commended Students and Semifinalists:

National Merit Scholarship Commended Students:

Taewoo Kim, Canyon del Oro High School Dylan Kmiec, Canyon del Oro High School Alejandro Romero-Lozano, Canyon del Oro High School Rose Wilson, Canyon del Oro High School

Chloe Choquette, Ironwood Ridge High School Ryan Haymore, Ironwood Ridge High School Pari Patel, Ironwood Ridge High School Regan Robinson, Ironwood Ridge High School Emeline Seegmiller, Ironwood Ridge High School

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists:

John Hartman, Canyon del Oro High School Carter Hollings, Canyon del Oro High School Aaron Trinh, Canyon del Oro High School

Students qualify to become semifinalists based on their scores on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (<u>PSAT/NMSQT®</u>). Nationwide, this group of approximately 16,000 semifinalists represent less than one percent of all U.S. high school seniors. These very bright and talented young students have a chance to compete for nearly \$31 million in scholarship money for college.

To become a finalist, the students and their schools must submit a detailed scholarship application providing information about their academic achievements, community projects, leadership experience, employment, and honors they have received.

RECOMMENDATION:

This item is presented for the Governing Board's recognition.

INITIATED BY:

Minhael Begare

Michael Bejarano

Associate Superintendent for Secondary Education

Date: October 2, 2020

 \mathcal{O}