BEMIDJI AREA SCHOOLS BEMIDJI, MINNESOTA

DATE:	NOVEMBER 19, 2018		
TO:	BOARD OF EDUCATION		
FROM:	COLLEEN CARDENUTO, DIRECTOR OF CURRICULUM & ADMIN. SERVICES		
SUBJECT:	APPROVAL OF 2018-2019 CHALLENGED RESOURCES COMMITTEE		
In accordance with SBR 400-30-4 regarding the Review of Instructional Material and Alternative Education , a committee must be established to review any challenged materials. The policy requires 12 members on the committee: one member of the Board of Education, one administrator who will serve as chairperson, three teachers from the level of the challenged resource, two high school students—one 10 th grader and one 11 th grader, four residents of the school district, and one media professional.			
Chair Kathy VanWert has generated a list of candidates for the student and resident members who would bring diversity of thought and rational thinking to the committee. Consideration was also given to having gender balance on the committee. The individuals listed below have agreed to serve as committee members. The school board is asked to approve the committee to serve on the Challenged Resource Committee for 2018-2019:			
Chairperson and Administrator: K		Kathy VanWert, Paul Bunyan Elementary & EIC Principal	
Board of Education Member:		Ann LongVoelkner	
Media Professional:		Erin Curran, Bemidji High School	The teacher group is determined by the resource level
Bemidji High School Teachers:		Gina Bernard, English teacher Julie Maus, Social Studies teacher	
First City School		Michelle Luby, English teacher	
Bemidji Middle School:		Mary Jo Klinke, grade 6 Language Arts teacher	
Media Professional:		Stephen Pfleger, Gene Dillion Elementary	
Bemidji High School Students:		Heather Werlein, 11 th grade student Kale Newby, 10 th grade student	
School Distri	ct Residents:	Sue Bruns Bob Smith Travis Greenwaldt Maureen Whelan	
ACTION:			
The motion was offered by, seconded by, and carried () to accept the 2018-2019 Challenged Resources Committee members.			