DRAFT

Minutes of the March 27, 2006 Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on March 27, 2006 at 6:31 p.m. in the Board Room of the Coppell Independent School District Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President, Kathie Gautille.

Members present: Kathie Gautille, President; Cindy Warner, Vice President; Bennett Ratliff, Secretary; Susie Kemp; Scott Orr; and David Apple. A quorum was present.

Members absent: Dr. Mike Arthur

Staff present: Dr. Jeff N. Turner, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Assistant Secretary; Shannon Buerk; Judy Denman; Ralph Seeley; Sid Grant; Jean Boyd; Brad Hunt; Paul Lupia; Janis Branum; Michelle King; Todd Kettler; Chad Branum; Susan Jamieson; Linda Cook; Jean Mosley; Tamerah Ringo and Bria Michael.

Notice of this meeting was posted on Friday, March 24, 2006 at 5:30 p.m.

At 6:31 p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (personnel matters) and Section 551.072 (deliberations regarding real property).

At 7:35 p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in Open Session.

The invocation was given by Bennett Ratliff.

AWARDS

March is **Youth Art Month. Tara Park** from Wilson Elementary (taught by Marilyn Mohr) and **Shelby Tamura** from CMS-North (taught by Dan Garten) were honored. These two students also had their art chosen to be displayed in the lobby of the Texas Education Association's building this month.

For the first time in Coppell history, two middle school Mathcounts teams qualified for the state competition. At State there were 300 of the best math students across Texas competing. CMS-North placed 4^{th} overall and 3 students place individually in the <u>top 15</u> in the state. In addition, Texas consistently wins the National title, meaning it is one of the most difficult states to compete in which makes these students success even greater.

The following students from CMS-North qualified for state competition: Alex Chiu-8th place Paul Blazek Jack Geller-15th Michael Hays-14th

Henry Trahan

Their coach is Karen Rambo.

The following team from CMS-West was also recognized : Bryce Heatherly Vicki Yang Suwetha Amsavelu Keisuke Takaya

They are coached by Melinda Carter.

This year 13 wrestlers and one alternate qualified and competed at the 5A U.I.L. State Wrestling Competition. The team had a terrific season coming away with three state titles and a third-place finish overall. The team was recognized by Coach Carl Stratlow.

BOYS

Spencer Covey-171 lb weight class state champ Josh Mayo-189 lb weight class state champ Jake Rice Kyle Sturch Dillon Horn Evan Benjamin Ben Robinson George Lessner Kegan Joplin-Alternate

GIRLS

Toni Rogers-165 lb weight class state champ Tessa Plana-119 lb weight class 3rd place finish Lauren Marsolek Yadinna Nwaiwu

All these wrestlers competed in Austin at the State tournament.

The **Campus Teachers of the Year** will be honored on May 2nd at the CISD Education Foundation's annual Student/Teacher Academic Recognition Banquet where the District Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year will be announced. The following teachers are Campus Teachers of the Year:

Cathy Griffin - Fifth Grade- Austin Kathy Thedford - Third Grade- Cottonwood Creek Lex Anne Seifert – Librarian- Denton Creek Debbie Etheridge - Third Grade- Lakeside Whitney West – Music- Lee Lynette Fortson – Librarian- Mockingbird Dolly Wadlington – Literacy- Pinkerton Chantel Kastrounis - Fourth Grade- Town Center Panda Krouse - Special Education- Valley Ranch Connie Evatt - Special Education- Wilson Jennifer Kryzak - Seventh Grade Language Arts- CMS-East Karen Rambo - Eighth Grade Math- CMS-North Neely Crinkelmeyer - Seventh Grade Language Arts/GT- CMS-West Donna Carpenter – Ready, Set, Teach/Teen Leadership- CHS

Athletic Director John Crawford presented a plaque to Coach **Brad Chasteen** and commended him for his coaching success and surpassing 400 wins in his career.

OPEN FORUM

Amy Sosa addressed the Board of Trustees concerning administration/staff training.

BOARD REPORTS

Cindy Warner reported on the Grassroots meeting that was held March 9. There were several legislators in attendance. The two main topics continue to be school finance and local control. Mrs. Warner will attend a meeting of the Legislative Advisory Council in Austin on April 1 and again in May. Representative Jim Jackson will teach Ms. Hogan's government classes at Coppell High School on April 12.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

Shannon Buerk and Jean Boyd reported on the 3rd and 5th grade TAKS reading scores (presentation attached). The second administration of the TAKS test will be in April for those students who have not passed TAKS. Students can attend tutoring and Saturday school for additional help. Dr. Turner thanked the curriculum staff and commended teachers for their efforts.

CONSENT

The item regarding the Student Wellness Policy was pulled from the consent agenda for further discussion. Cindy Warner made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of the February 13, 2006 (corrected); February 27, 2006; and March 20, 2006 meetings
- 2. Approve 2005-2006 Budget Amendments
- 3. Approve Financial Report for February 2006
- 4. Approve Par Flooring, L.P. as the CISD carpet instllation vendor

Susie Kemp seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

The Student Wellness Policy will be submitted to TASB as a local policy for CISD. The Student Health Advisory Committee (SHAC) has met twice and will have students on the committee in the future. Bennett Ratliff made a motion adopt the Student Wellness Policy with revisions to the nutritional guidelines to reflect the current offerings at Coppell High School. Cindy Warner seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

ACTION

Cindy Warner made a motion to adopt local policy FDB as presented with the addition of the statement, "Children of nonresident District employees shall be eligible to attend District schools, provided they are not serving a suspension or expulsion from the sending district, " and that the policy would apply to intradistrict and out-of-district transfers. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to adopt the Order amending an Order Calling a Bond Election as presented. Scott Orr seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Scott Orr made a motion to adopt the Order amending an Order Calling a Trustee Election as presented. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Cindy Warner made a motion to approve the Resolution expressing Official Intent to Reimburse Costs of the School Building Project as presented. Scott Orr seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Cindy Warner made a motion to approve the renewal of the CISD term, and probationary contracts as recommended by the Superintendent. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Susie Kemp made a motion to accept resignations for CISD professional personnel as per list presented. Cindy Warner seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Scott Orr made a motion to accept new hires for CISD professional personnel as per list presented. Bennett Ratliff seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion that the term contract for Maureen Glasgow be proposed for non-renewal. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion passed 6-0.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion that the probationary contract for Judy Parsons be terminated at the end of the probationary period. Susie Kemp seconded the motion. The motion passed 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 9:00 p.m.

Kathie Gautille, Board President

Bennett Ratliff, Secretary