## MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

## May 17, 2012

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session May 17, 2012 in the Bluebonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice President Victor Lopez Maria Elena Lara Tony T. Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Absent was Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary

Also present was Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., President of the College.

The minutes of the April 19, 2012 meeting were read and approved as presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales, President Elect.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Dr. Hector Gonzales, Dr. Blaine Bennett, Joe Barker, Barbara Blair, Anne Tarski, Connie Buchanan, Dr. Geraldine M. Goosen, Gilbert S. Bermea, Jesus J. Martinez, and Ismael Martinez. Also in attendance were Robert Tijerina, David Gonzalez, Jared McCurley, Mike Moore, Juan F. Aguilera, Sarah A. Morales, Leopoldo Ortiz, and from the Uvalde Leader News, Jessica Magnus.

Audience to Patrons - None

Board President Flores recognized newly re-elected board members, Victor Lopez, Maria Elena Lara, and Anita Shackelford; who were all unopposed for Places 1, 2 and 3 for the college election scheduled for May 12, 2012 that was canceled due to no opposition. President of the Board Rodolfo R. Flores administered the Oath of Office to Victor Lopez, Maria Elena Lara, and Anita Shackelford. Copies are attached.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Victor Lopez to keep Rodolfo R. Flores as President. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to keep Dr. Harry O. Watkins as Vice-President. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to keep Dr. Antonio H. Rivera as secretary. Motion carried unanimously.

Rodolfo R. Flores presented a five year service pin to Anita Shackelford and a ten year service pin to Tony T. Moreno.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the financial statement as of April 30, 2012 as presented by Anne Tarski, Associate Dean of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to approve the energy savings and deferred maintenance project. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Anita Shackelford to retain Estrada, Hinojosa & Company, Inc. as financial advisor to Southwest Texas Junior College District to assist district staff and officials with financial matters, and providing for other matters in connection therewith. Also, to retain Escamilla, Poneck & Cruz, LLP as Bond Counsel to Southwest Texas Junior College District; to assist district staff and officials with legal matters pertaining to public financing, and providing for other matters in connection therewith. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to set the June Regular Board Meeting for June 28, 2012 at 7:00 p.m. Motion passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to create an Advisory Committee to review College Policy DC (Regulation). Motion Failed 2 to 3; Maria Elena Lara and Tony T. Moreno for, Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Victor Lopez, and Anita Shackelford against.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the changes to College Policy DC (Regulation). Motion passed 5 to 1.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to accept the SWTJC Foundation, Inc. leases for Eagle Pass campus as presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales, President Elect. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

After convening in open session, Board President Rodolfo R. Flores called the board into executive session at 8:00 p.m. to consider personnel matters.

Upon returning to open session at 8:07 p.m., a motion was made by Maria Elena Lara and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to award tenure to Aide Escamilla and Jesus M. Garcia. Motion carried unanimously. The recommendation is attached.

	A report was	given by Anne	Tarski, Asso	ciate Dean o	of Finance	on the 7	<b>Fransportation</b>
Depa	rtment.						

A report was given by Dr. Geraldine Goosen, ADN Director on the RN Program.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Maria Elena Lara seconded the motion. Motion carried at 8:51 p.m.

	Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board		
Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Boar	<u></u> rd		
	Dr. Ismaal Sosa, Ir. Witness		