

GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: April 9, 2024

TITLE: Recognition of 2024 Odyssey of the Mind World Teams

BACKGROUND:

Odyssey of the Mind is an international competition that provides creative problem-solving opportunities for students from kindergarten through college. Amphitheater Public Schools continues to be the top district in participation and achievement in the Arizona Odyssey of the Mind program.

Team members apply their creativity to solve long term problems. They spend months preparing and 8 minutes presenting and they also compete in a "spontaneous" competition where they are given the problem right before they present their solution.

This year, 12 teams earned the right to compete during World Finals being held at Iowa State University, May 21-24, 2024. The following students and their coaches are to be commended for their dedication and high level of accomplishment in this academic competition.

Elementary School

Copper Creek Elementary School Coordinator: Emily LoVerde

Copper Creek Elementary Vehicle Team

1st Place, Division 1

Coaches: Amanda Campion and Emily LoVerde

Team:

Carson Blong Brandon Campion Oz Folkman Rowen Mascareno Mason Pecharich Tristan Warfield

Innovation Academy Coordinators: Colin Cordell and Patricia Patchin

Innovation Academy Vehicle Innovation Academy Innovation Academy Classics Team Structure Team Team 1st Place, Division 1 1st Place, Division 1 2nd Place, Division 1 Coaches: Jessica Wheatley Coach: Jennifer Fernandez and Coaches: Emily Streeter and and Andrea Pershing Melissa Crown Desirae Rodriguez Team: Team: Team: Zia Crown Melanie Dominguez Sophia Hollen Austin Moser

Mila Garro Zophia Pershing Carmen Schlappi Julianna Martin Julius Rodriguez Tatum Shattuck Willow Patrick Slate Salver Railyn Stamp Ella Taliaferro Mason Rehm Lauren Wheatley Owen Wheatley Gemma Sottosanti Addison Zimmerman Giada Sottosanti Luke Zimmerman

Painted Sky Elementary School Coordinator:

Nina Brown

Painted Sky Elementary School Structure Team

1st Place, Division 1

Coaches: Matthew Gasser and Stephanie Gasser

Team:
Myla Facelo
Samantha Frithsen
Jacob Gasser
Laurel Gasser
Grace Shutey
Joseph Shutey

Painted Sky Elementary School Technical Team

1st Place Division 1

Coaches: Nina Brown and Nasima Pfaffl

Team:

Harrison Brown Adele Carlson Paige Carlson Maya Gundy Linus Herman James Sobey Sophia Zuniga

Middle School

Cross Middle School Coordinator: Sara Wilson

Cross Structure TeamCross Classics Team2nd Place, Division 22nd Place, Division 2Coaches: Amanda CampionCoaches: Cori Friezen and Heather Poyas

Team:

Morgan Friezen

Natalie Jacobs

Amelia Weede

Aurelia Willard

Sora Kretzer

Luke Weede

Lily Poyas

and Carey Higgins

Team:

Grace Campion
Gillian Higgins
Ari Laird
Kallen McGuire
Mason McGuire

Brennan Payne Sam Weiler Cross Classics TeamCross Technical Team2nd Place, Division 22nd Place, Division 2Coaches: Cori Friezen andCoach: Cris Gosz

Team:Abby Barrett
Benny Castanada
Ella Fendrick

Avery Grembowski-Wacker Lola Grembowski-Wacker

Liam Gosz

Elliott Garcia Seminario

High School

Canyon del Oro Coordinator: Lisa DaDeppo

Canyon del Oro High School C

Technical Team
1st Place, Division 3
Coach: Lisa DaDeppo and

Robyn Yewell **Team:**

Keelynn Anderson Bennett Curran Carter DaDeppo Taylor Rayl Kyndel Smith Tatum Wilson Gavin Yewell Canyon del Oro High School Structure Team

2nd Place, Division 3
Coaches: Leann Calvin

Team: Lewis Calvin Bryana Castillo Austin Christian Andrew Garza Allison Landin Jack Powers Canyon del Oro High School

Performance Team 1st Place, Division 3

Coaches: Amanda Campion

and Scott Lassiter

Team:

E.B. Barraza-Rocha Lewis Calvin Seth Campion Hailey Collins Caysea Cordell Cadence Jones Jessica Lassiter

RECOMMENDATION:	
This is presented for the Board's information and recognition.	
INITIATED BY:	
Jen Anderson	
Jen Anderson	Date: April 2, 2024

Executive Assistant to the Superintendent and Governing Board

Todd A. Jaeger, J.D., Superintenden