

### **Advanced Placement Scholars**

The College Board honored 130 Denton ISD high school students with distinctions for 2018, according to their annual list of recipients who are named Advanced Placement Scholars.

The national program recognizes individuals who have demonstrated college-level achievement through exceptional scores in AP courses and on AP exams. Students are awarded based on four levels including: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with Distinction and National AP Scholar.

Students receive an award certificate from The College Board and although there is no monetary award, this achievement is acknowledged on any score report that is sent to colleges.

#### <u>Guyer High</u>

#### **AP Scholars**

The AP Scholars, students who received scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams are: Miguel Benitez, Kaylee Bragg, Mia Brownell, Aris Carson, Caleb Chapple, Daniel Cho, Ceanna Cooksey, Mira Dali, Renee Dusseau, Hannah Elmore, Emily Erwin, Olivia Fillmorenathan, Megan Freeze, Jessica Gamsjager, Catherine Golden, Preston Gottwald, Dylan Harris, Kayla Haynes, Samuel Hellenschmidt, Rachel Hughes, Maleeha Imtiaz, Minnah Imtiaz, Misbah Imtiaz, Brent Jackson, Noah Johnson, Lauren Kimberly, Mia Knight, Marley Knittle, Andrew Lackstrom, Jack Laub-Tracy, Gabriel Lee, Preston Lewis, Yuqing Liu, Alyssa Lumsden, Jolie Lyssy, William Marshall, Oliver Martin, Peyton Mueller, Rebecca Mueller, Ethan Nguyen, Osvaldo Orellana, Thanh Pham, Jawad Rao, Jaden Reid, Katherine Roy, Jazmine Salamanca, Morgan Scruggs, Tabatha Sidandi, Cooper Vennell, Rachel Weidman, Joseph Williams, Chance Wright and Kieron Yin.

#### **AP Scholars with Honors**

The AP Scholar with Honors, students who received an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of those exams are: Sydney Brown, Michael Franklin, Stephen Franklin, Juan Harmjanz, Avery Johnson, Allie Lawler, Benjamin Little, Annalee Ramsey, Andrew Watson and Luke Wilson.

#### **AP Scholars with Distinction**

The AP Scholars with Distinction, students who received an average score of 3.5 on five or more exams include: Lydia Belinski, Rachel Brandt, Ashlyn Clark, Harrison Daniels, Cole Foreman, Adam Gebhart, Grace Goodwin, Kyle Johnson, Jeanhyun Kim, Jaron Petreas, Isabell Plaza, Elliott Radovan, Karen Ramierz, Sarah Spivey, Chloe Vasquez and Shreya Vyas.

AP Scholars from Braswell High, Denton High and Ryan High schools were honored in January.

## **Guyer High School Wind Ensemble**

After submitting a recording of the Guyer High School Wind Ensemble to the Western International Band Clinic (WIBC) in March of last year, the group was notified last April that they are invited to perform at this year's convention in Seattle.

From the hundreds of submissions received, only one middle school, one university, and two high school groups were chosen to perform. In November, the Wind Ensemble traveled to perform in this prestigious setting, representing our community.

Students who performed included: Andrew Allen, Christopher Beckett, James Bobo, Amanda Brough, Ashton Cartwright, Jackson Corwin, Bishop Cutting, Harrison Daniels, Samantha Dann, Kennedi Dann, Ian Donovan, Savannah Ekrut, Conor Foster, Bethany Fox, Michael Franklin, Stephan Franklin, Emma Garnier, Brett Gilbert, Luke Goldberg, Randon Guidry, Hayden Hayes, Alexis Helal, Josh Hodges, Brent Jackson, Audrey Kim, Jenna Martin, Jordan Meza, Zachary Mistrot, Fransciso Moran, Grant Mulholland, River Pape, Carter Price, Jacob Rasmussen, Alex Robinson, Steven Ryckeley, Garrett Savior, Gavin Smethers, Grayson Spradlin, Sydney Tischler, Preston Wheat, Caraline Whitcomb, Adam Whoolery, Sierra Winders, Ethan Woodman.

The concert was led by Guyer Band Directors Amy Woody, Dr. Ellis Hampton, Oscar Ban, and guest conductor, Assistant Director of Fine Arts, Eddy Russell, and included some of the highest-level literature available to high school musicians.

#### **Guyer Wind Ensemble Concert Pieces:**

Fanfare from "La Peri", Paul Dukas Speed of Heat, Julie Giroux Danza Final, Ginastera Eagles Awake! Richard Saucedo Reverie, Claude Debussy/arr. Ryan George Concertpiece No. 1 for Trumpet, Vassily Brandt/arr. Mark Rodgers

Please join us in celebrating the incredible accomplishment of these young musicians and their leaders.

# **Board Spotlight**

Every year the Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) recognizes the 12 best upright bassists in the State of Texas. This year, three of the 12 are from Guyer High School. Aiden Wood, Ethan Nguyen, and Christian Luevano wouldn't have made it to the TMEA Symphony Orchestra without each other. Through hard work, camaraderie and love of music they push each other to be their best, and that means they are the best in Texas. That is why we are thrilled to spotlight their exceptional achievement.