MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

May 15, 2014

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session May 15, 2014 in the Bluebonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice-President Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary Maria Elena Lara Victor Lopez Tony T. Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Also present was Dr. Hector Gonzales, President of the College.

The minutes of the April 17, 2014 meeting were read and approved as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Dr. Blaine Bennett, Joe Barker, Dr. Mark Underwood, Anne Tarski, Gilbert Bermea, Johnny Guzman, Wade Carpenter, Barbara Blair, Rachel Hinman, Raul Cano, Carlos Ramos, Melissa Lopez, and David Burchfield. SWTJC Phi Theta Kappa Students were Elijah Evans, George Melchor, Jr., and Pedro S. Navarro. Also present was Thomas Ferrell from Ferrell/Brown Inc. Architects, Dr. Paul Sorrels from SRSU-RGC and from the Uvalde Leader News was Kim Eagle.

Audience to Patrons - none

Board Vice-President Watkins recognized newly re-elected board members, Tony T. Moreno and Rodolfo R. Flores; who were all unopposed for Places 4 and 5 for the college election scheduled for May 10, 2014 that was canceled due to no opposition. Melissa Lopez administered the Oath of Office to Tony T. Moreno and Rodolfo R. Flores. Copies are attached.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to keep the organization of the Board of Trustees as is. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

Rodolfo R. Flores presented a fifteen year service pin to Dr. Hector Gonzales

Reports:

- A. Del Rio Project update presented by Thomas Ferrell.
- B. Automotive Program update presented by Carlos Ramos and Raul Cano
- C. Phi Theta Kappa update given by Mrs. Blair and students Elijah Evans, George Melchor, Jr., and Pedro S. Navarro

President's Report presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to approve the financial statement as of April 30, 2014 as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice-President of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

Del Rio project change orders – none.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to approve the Crystal City Library Site and Concept as presented by Thomas Ferrell, from Ferrell/Brown Inc. Architects. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to approve the Student Handbook changes as presented by Dr. Blaine Bennett, Vice-President of Student Services. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Anita Shackelford to move that the board add, revise, or delete (LOCAL) policies as recommended by TASB Policy Service and according to the Instruction Sheet for TASB Localized Policy Manual Update 29 with no changes. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

After convening in open session, Board President Flores called the board into executive session at 8:03 p.m. to consider:

A. Personnel matters relative to Tenure recommendations and Professor Rank

B. Employees: Terminated / Resigned / Retired / New Hires / Transfers.

Upon returning to open session at 9:50 p.m.:

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to award Tenure to Rebecca Andrews and Assistant Professor Rank to Aubrey Haynes as recommended by Administration. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

Today's meeting was closed in honor of Barbara Blair, Harry Lawrence, and Sharon Wilson - all retirees.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Dr. Harry O. Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried at 9:51 p.m.

Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board

Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board