PERSONNEL COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, December 5, 2024 Howard Male Conference Room

The Personnel Committee met on Thursday, December 5, 2024, at 12:00 p.m. in the Howard Male Conference Room.

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT: Brenda Fournier, Chair

Bill Peterson John Kozlowski

OTHERS PRESENT: Jesse Osmer, County Administrator

Jennifer Mathis, Human Resource Specialist

Kim MacArthur, Board Assistant

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Fournier called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ADOPT AGENDA

Chair Fournier presented the agenda for approval. Motion was made by Commissioner Peterson and supported by Commissioner Kozlowski to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

INFORMATION ITEM: County Administrator Jesse Osmer reported the board had previously approved the formation of an Opioid Steering Committee to disburse funds that we will be receiving annually over the course of the next 15 years. Recommendation was made to appoint all five individuals that applied to serve on the committee.

Motion was made by Commissioner Kozlowski and supported by Commissioner Peterson to approve appointing Jason Beatty, Vicki Konczak-Miltz, Jennifer Graham, Mary Eagan, and Abe Bruski to the Opioid Steering Committee as presented. Motion carried.

ACTION ITEM #1: The Committee recommends approval to appoint the following individuals to be seated on the Opioid Steering Committee: Jason Beatty, Vicki Konczak-Mitz, Jennifer Graham, Mary Eagan, and Abe Bruski each for a 2-year term effective January 1, 2025, to December 31, 2026, as presented.

INFORMATION ITEM: As directed by the board, Administrator Jesse Osmer reported the contract with Synchronizations has been terminated. There are approximately 12 part time staff members that will be transitioned to County employees and discussion was made on the necessity of drug testing and background checks as they are high school students but will be now employed

on the County payroll. Administrator Osmer will check with Synchronizations to see if they had done prior drug tests and background checks. Recommendation was made to remain consistent and move forward with both background checks and drug testing if not yet performed.

INFORMATION ITEM: Commissioner Kozlowski presented a letter from the Chairman of the NE MI Community Mental Health Board recommending the reappointment Bob Adrian to serve on their board for another 3-year term. The Personnel Committee also made the recommendation to appoint Jennifer Graham as well as Bob Adrian to the vacancies on that board.

Motion was made by Commissioner Kozlowski and supported by Commissioner Peterson to approve the recommendation to reappoint Bob Adrian and to appoint Jennifer Graham to the NE MI Community Mental Health Board. Motion carried.

ACTION ITEM #2: The Committee recommends approval to reappoint Bob Adrian and appoint Jennifer Graham to the NE MI Community Mental Health Board, each for a 3-year term, beginning April 1, 2025, and ending March 31, 2028, as presented.

INFORMATION ITEM: Chair Fournier presented the recommendations from the Personnel Committee for appointments to the various Boards and Commission vacancies.

Motion was made by Commissioner Peterson and supported by Commissioner Kozlowski to approve the recommendations made for the following individuals to be appointed to the vacancies on the various Boards and Commissions as presented. Motion carried.

ACTION ITEM #3: The Committee recommends approval to appoint the following candidates to the following Boards and Commissions:

<u>Library Board</u>: Julie Brynes, 5-Year Term <u>Library Board</u>: Traci Collins, Partial Term (01/01/2025 to 12/31/2029) (immediate to 12/31/2027)

Parks & Recreation: Pam Kirchoff, 3-Year Term (01/01/2025 to 12/31/2027)
Parks & Recreation: Michael Rhodes, 3-Year Term (01/01/2025 to 12/31/2027)

Road Commission: Gerald Lucas, 6-Year Term (01/01/2025 to 12/31/2030)

<u>Planning Commission (Citizen at Large)</u>: Michael Kramer, 3-Year Term (01/01/2025 to 12/31/2027)

<u>Planning Commission (Business & Industry)</u>: Carol Bobolts, 3-Year Term (01/01/2025 to 12/31/2027)

<u>Veterans Affairs Board:</u> Burt Francisco, 4-Year Term (01/01/2025 to 12/31/2028) **Veterans Affairs Board:** Steven Murphy, 4-Year Term (01/01/2025 to 12/31/2028)

Central Dispatch: Edna Sorensen, 2-Year Term (01/01/2025 to 12/31/2026)

INFORMATION ITEM: HR Specialist Jennifer Mathis reported the following employment separations:

- 1 Part-Time Corrections Officer
- 1 Part-Time Animal Technician
- 1 Co-Manager from Long Lake Park

*Next Meeting: Tuesday, January 7, 2025, at 12:00 p.m. in the Howard Male Conference Room/Zoom

Motion was made by Commissioner Kozlowski and supported by Commissioner Peterson to adjourn the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 12:14 p.m.	

Brenda Fournier, Chair

kvm