DRAFT

Minutes of the April 27, 2009 Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on April 27, 2009 in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road in Coppell, Texas. The meeting was called to order by Cindy Warner, Board President.

At 6:30 p.m. President Warner declared the Board in Open Session.

Members present: Cindy Warner, President; Bennett Ratliff, Vice President; Susie Kemp, Secretary; Scott Orr; Anthony Hill; and Thom Hulme. A quorum was present. David Apple arrived at 6:32 p.m.

Notice of this meeting was posted on Friday, April 24, 2009 at 5:40 p.m.

At 6:30 p.m. President Warner declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (personnel matters).

At 7:32 p.m. President Warner declared the Board in Open Session.

Staff present: Dr. Jeff N. Turner, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Assistant Secretary; Sid Grant; Kelly Penny; Judy Denman; Tracey Wallace; Denise Sullivan; Debra Hart; Tabitha Branum; Juanell Isaac; Montie Parker; Kevin Whitsett; Donna Carpenter; Tamerah Ringo; Vern Edin; Melody Paschall and Curriculum Staff

The invocation was given by Cindy Warner.

AWARDS

Retired City Manager Jim Witt was presented a Proclamation by the Board of Trustees.

Amy Sentementes, Robert Lee, Steve Lee, Quinn Zhang, and Jamie Choi were recognized for the selection of their artwork in the Young Masters Juried Exhibition.

The following football players were honored for their selection to the 2008 Academic All-State Football team: Ryan Carlile, Phillip Lee, Nathaniel Berry, Drew Goodwin, Chase Wood, Chris Cruz, Brandon Lilly, Jason Massey, Nick Rice, James Roh, Taylor Centers, Michael Fidler, and Matt Koch.

Chelsea Own, Mackenzie Orr, Whitney Norman, Dinah Smith and Hillary Taylor were recognized for their selection to the 2009 All-State Choir.

Eight students qualified to compete in the Exxon Mobil Texas Science and Engineering Fair. The following middle school students were honored: Erica Mason, Emily Stuart, Anne Friedman, Holly Swaldi, and Teemu Koponen. Also recognized were students from Coppell High School who qualified – Hiba Ibad, Mitu Bhattatiry, and Goutham Kandru.

The 5A State Champion Varsity Girls Soccer team and their coaches were honored. Team members include Kailey Hicks, Tannah De Loach, Bear Bass, Alyssa Diggs, Sydney Frazier, Katie Bass, Laura Sadler, Lauren Johnson, Spayne Avant, Dominique Dinka, Chioma Ubogagu, Brittany Redus, Amina Radoncic, Allison Guderian, Danielle Herubin, Kristen Hart, Christina Baker, Erin Barlow, Haley Powers, Rebekeh Henderson, Rachel Henderson, Cara Maning, Tori VanRiper, Whitney Borstad, Lauren Scott, Maddie Peters, Jessica Berdan and Lindsey Meyer. Team coaches are Chris Stricker, Justin Heller, Michelle McAlister, and Tito Schwabe. Senior Laura Sadler was named Most Valuable Player.

OPEN FORUM

The following individuals addressed the Board of Trustees:

Dede Reck, Allison White, Tami Millspaugh, Randal Taylor, Lisa White, Roberta Goff, Darrell Barry and Gina Masters spoke regarding Standards Based Report Cards. Lian Loop provided information on the CGA Creative Writing Competition.

BOARD PRESIDENT REPORTS

President Warner gave the following reports: CISD Education Foundation Banquet, City Update, and Bond Presentations.

BOARD MEMBER REPORTS

Anthony Hill presented reports on the YMCA C.A.R.E., NTAASB, and IBM Initiatives – Dallas IIC

Thom Hulme and Scott Orr reported on the National School Board Association Conference that they recently attended.

A report on the CISD 50th Anniversary Celebration was given by Susie Kemp.

TAKS MATH REPORT

Dr. Monica Uphoff reported on the 5th and 8th grade TAKS results for the first administration of Math.

CONSENT

Item 2 (Approve 2008-2009 budget amendments) was pulled from the Consent Agenda to be considered separately.

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of the March 30, 2009 and April 13, 2009 meetings
- 3. Approve Financial Report for March 2009
- 4. Approve Interlocal Purchasing Agreement for participation in the Purchasing Solutions Alliance (PSA), and allow the Director of Purchasing to complete necessary documentation for agreement
- 5. Approve Chickasaw Electrical Corporation as the awarded vendor for the Coppell ISD Service Center Generator Addition Project #4108.077.00
- 6. Approve renewal of the District's Depository Contract beginning September 1, 2009 through August 31, 2011 pursuant to the provision of the Texas Education Code, Section 45.205 Subchapter G
- 7. Approve Shared Services Arrangement Agreement with Dallas Regional Day School Program for the Deaf (The Shared Services Arrangement Agreement is currently under review by attorneys. By consensus, the Board approved the Agreement pending approval from the attorneys, provided there are no changes from previous Agreements.)

Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Thom Hulme made a motion to approve the 2008-2009 budget amendments (Item 2) as presented. Bennett Ratliff seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

ACTION

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to approve the Guaranteed Maximum Price of \$6,827,733 as proposed by Joe Funk Engineers, Inc., for the summer 2009 projects as presented on the project list. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Thom Hulme made a motion to approve the Lease Agreement between St. Ann Catholic Parish and Coppell ISD for the purpose of New Tech High @ Coppell student parking during the 2009-2010 school year. Susie Kemp seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-1. (David Apple voted in opposition.) CISD staff was directed to work with the city for the best placement of a crosswalk in that area and to customize the timing of the school zone lights for NTH@C.

No action was taken regarding the TASB Advocacy Agenda.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to approve a Resolution regarding the Texas public school finance system. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0. The Resolution will be sent to various state legislators.

Anthony Hill made a motion to accept new hires for CISD professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Scott Orr made a motion to accept resignations for CISD professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. Bennett Ratliff seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:32 p.m.	
	Cindy Warner, Board President
	Susie Kemp, Secretary