DRAFT

Minutes of the December 15, 2008 Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on December 15, 2008 at 5:06 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Cindy Warner.

Members present: Cindy Warner, President; Bennett Ratliff, Vice President; Susie Kemp, Secretary; Scott Orr; Anthony Hill and Thom Hulme. A quorum was present. David Apple arrived at 6:40 p.m.

Staff present: Dr. Jeff N. Turner, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Assistant Secretary; Sherrye Dotson; Kelly Penny; Sid Grant; Judy Denman; Melody Paschall; Vern Edin, Juneria Berges; Laura Springer; John Crawford, Tabitha Branum; Brad Hunt; Michelle King and Curriculum Staff

Notice of this meeting was posted on Friday, December 12, 2008 at 12:20 p.m.

The Board held a work session to discuss the 2009-2010 budget.

At 6:35 p.m. President Warner declared the Board in closed session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (Personnel Matters), Section 551.071 (Consultation with Attorney), and Section 551.072 (Deliberations Regarding Real Property).

At 7:33 p.m. President Warner declared the Board in Open Session.

The invocation was given by Scott Orr.

AWARDS

The awards presented at the meeting are as follows:

Mikayla Becker – Holiday card winner

Mike Yakubovsky, Kirsten Silden, Jill Clay, Carol Revelle, Holly Hubenak, Donna Casto, Robin Freeman, Eric Parraz, Rhonda Hermanski, Tiffiny Houdek, Nicole Scott, Sarah Connor, and Lisa Hansen – Education Foundation Grant Recipients

Molly Cook, Sally Downs and Lexi Ornell – Academic All-State Volleyball

HEARING FOR PUBLIC DISCUSSION OF THE ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REPORT

Dr. Monica Uphoff, Director of Assessment, presented the Annual Performance Report. The public was given the opportunity to discuss the report and provide comments. (No one came forward to comment.)

OPEN FORUM

No one came forward to address the Board of Trustees during Open Forum.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS

<u>BOARD PRESIDENT</u> – President Cindy Warner gave an interim report on continuing education credit as required under House Bill 2563. At this time, all Board members have the met the training requirements. President Warner also discussed Team of Eight training (Tier Two) for the Board of Trustees, gave an update on the City of Coppell, and reported on the International Baccalaureate program.

BOARD MEMBERS – Bennett Ratliff provided an update on the Bond Committee.

SUPERINTENDENT – Dr. Jeff Turner reported on the 2009 legislative challenges.

The State of the CISD Libraries report was given by Debra Marshall. Representatives from the firm of Linebarger, Goggan, Blair & Sampson provided a tax collection data report.

CONSENT

Item 6 on the Consent Agenda (Proclamation honoring retiring City Manager Jim Witt) was removed in order for the Proclamation to be read to the public prior to Board approval.

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve minutes of the Board meeting held on November 17, 2008
- 2. Approve Financial Report for November 2008
- 3. Approve Quarterly Investment Report for Period Ending November 30, 2008
- 4. Approve Budget Amendments for 2008-2009
- 5. Approve Superior Fiber and Data Services as the awarded vendor for the Coppell ISD Data Cabling Infrastructure Proposal #0808
- 7. Adopt Resolution supporting the use of TASA's *Creating a New Vision for Public Education in Texas*

Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

ACTION

A Proclamation honoring retiring City Manager Jim Witt (Item 6 on the Consent Agenda) was read. Bennett Ratliff made a motion to approve the Proclamation. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to adopt the Financial Report for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2008 as presented. Susie Kemp seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Susie Kemp made a motion to adopt the proposed 2009-2010 and 2010-2011 school calendars as presented. Scott Orr seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Thom Hulme made a motion to adopt a Resolution supporting the establishment of a Foreign Trade Zone at specific locations as noted in the document. Bennett Ratliff seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to adopt Board Policy EIF (LOCAL) – Academic Achievement – Graduation, as revised. Scott Orr seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion authorizing President Cindy Warner to sign a consent to transfer the radio tower license agreement from KLIF Broadcasting, Inc., to Susquehanna Radio Corporation as presented. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Scott Orr made a motion to accept resignations for CISD professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to approve a revision to the term contract as presented and recommended by the Superintendent. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned 9:22 p.m.	
	Cindy Warner, Board President
	Susie Kemp, Secretary