DRAFT

Minutes of the June 23, 2014 Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on June 23, 2014, at 6:30 p.m. at the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road, Coppell, Texas. The meeting was called to order by President Anthony Hill.

Members present: Anthony Hill, President; Susie Kemp, Vice President; Thom Hulme, Secretary; David Apple; Amy Dungan; Judy Barbo and Tracy Fisher

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on June 20, 2014 at 1:15 p.m.

At 6:30 p.m., President Hill declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (Personnel Matters).

President Hill declared the Board in Open Session at 7:33 p.m.

Staff present: Dr. Jeff Turner, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Assistant Secretary; Sid Grant; Kelly Penny; Brad Hunt; Dr. Marilyn Denison; Dr. Sam Farsaii; Tamerah Ringo; Dr. Leanne Shivers; Dr. Rose Brock; Debra Marshall; Angie Applegate, Shannon Edwards; Stephen McGilvray; and Curriculum Staff

The invocation was given by David Apple.

AWARDS

UIL State Band "Outstanding Soloist" awards

UIL State Choir "Outstanding Soloist" awards

UIL State Ready Writing award

OPEN FORUM

No one came forward to address the Board of Trustees during the Open Forum section of the meeting.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS:

BOARD PRESIDENT

Anthony Hill – Committee Assignments & Campus Adoptions

BOARD MEMBERS

Susie Kemp – TASB Summer Leadership Institute Tracy Fisher – Coppell Gifted Association

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) 2013-2014 Report – Tammy Gilstrap and Susan Zeff

CONSENT

David Apple made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on May 19, 2014, and special Board meetings held on May 28, 2014; June 2, 2014 and June 4, 2014
- 2. Approve monthly 2013-2014 Budget Amendments
- 3. Approve Financial Report for May 2014
- 4. Approve Investment Report for period ending May 31, 2014

Amy Dungan seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

ACTION

Judy Barbo made a motion to approve an Order authorizing the issuance of Coppell Independent School District Unlimited Tax School Building Bonds, Series 2014, establishing Sale Parameters, authorizing the Execution of a Bond Purchase Contract, approving an Official Statement, and enacting other provisions relating to the subject. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Susie Kemp made a motion to approve a trip to Hawaii by CHS Varsity cheerleaders to participate in a bi-annual cheer competition as presented. Tracy Fisher seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

David Apple made a motion to approve the Summer 2014 Technology Improvement Plans to include upgrades to the next generation web filtering system and mobile device management, wireless density implementation, and school-wide wireless evaluation and upgrade recommendations as presented. Tracy Fisher seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

David Apple made a motion to approve Town Center Elementary recommendations for additional technologies as presented in their proposal totaling \$77,400.00 for fourth and fifth grades. Tracy Fisher seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Thom Hulme made a motion to accept all resignations for CISD professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. Amy Dungan seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Amy Dungan made a motion to accept the new hires as recommended by the Superintendent. Judy Barbo seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

At 9:21 p.m., President Hill declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (Personnel Matters). Thom Hulme left the meeting at 9:34 p.m.

President Hill declared the Board in Open Session at 10:48 p.m.

Amy Dungan made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Judy Barbo seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 10:50 p.m.

Anthony Hill, Board President	_
Thom Hulme, Secretary	