TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES 12 NOON MEETING MINUTES September 23, 2008

The Board of Trustees of the Tupelo Public School District convened in a regular meeting of the Board held in open session at noon on Tuesday, September 23, 2008, at the Hancock Leadership Center, 1920 Briar Ridge, Tupelo, Mississippi.

I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Board President Shawn Brevard.

II. ROLL CALL AND ESTABLISHMENT OF A QUORUM

The following School Board members were present during roll call:

Members Present:	Ms. Shawn Brevard Mr. Mike Clayborne Mrs. Amy Heyer Mr. Lee Tucker
Members Absent:	Mr. John Nail
Staff Present:	Dr. Randy McCoy Mr. David Meadows Dr. George Noflin, Jr. Mrs. Diana Ezell Mr. Jim Turner Mrs. Linda Pannell Mrs. Kay Bishop Mrs. Jennifer Strunk Ms. Patrice Tate

Mrs. Brevard announced a quorum and stated that the meeting was lawfully in session. Members of the press were also present.

III. REVIEW OF AGENDA TOPICS

Board Members and Tupelo Public School District staff members reviewed agenda topics and heard reports in a work session type format for the September 23, 2008, meeting of the Board of Trustees as follows:

- A. National Educational Policy Forum September 25, 2008
- B. Consent Agenda
- C. Student Transfer Report
- D. Personnel Report
- E. Docket of Claims
- F. Financial Statements for Month-Ending August 31, 2008
- G. Sale Resolution regarding Shortfall Note
- H. Section 403(b) Plan Administrative Services Agreement with American Fidelity Assurance Company d/b/a AFPlanServ

IV. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mrs. Brevard suggested to the School Board a temporary executive session to determine the need for a permanent executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel matters.

On a motion by Mr. Clayborne, seconded by Mr. Tucker, the Board voted unanimously to enter temporary executive session for the purpose of determining a need for permanent executive session. The President of the Board declared the motion passed.

The room was cleared and the temporary executive session was called to order by President Shawn Brevard with the following people present: Mrs. Shawn Brevard, Mr. Mike Clayborne, Mrs. Amy Heyer, Mr. Lee Tucker, Dr. Randy McCoy, Mr. David Meadows, Dr. George Noflin and Mrs. Diana Ezell.

The Board first considered the reason for entering executive session. Upon a motion by Mr. Clayborne with a second by Mr. Tucker, the Board voted unanimously to remain in executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel matters. The President of the Board declared the motion passed.

Mrs. Brevard reopened the meeting to tell all those in attendance the reason for going into executive session was to discuss personnel matters.

Following discussion of one personnel matter, Dr. Noflin, Mr. Meadows and Mrs. Ezell left the meeting. After a brief discussion period, Dr. McCoy left the meeting and the Board remained in Executive Session to discuss personnel matters.

Upon a motion by Mr. Clayborne with a second by Mr. Tucker, the Board voted unanimously to come out of executive session. The President of the Board declared the motion passed.

No action was taken during the Executive Session.

V. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business at this meeting of the Board of Trustees, it was moved by Mr. Tucker and duly seconded by Mr. Clayborne that the Board adjourn. Mrs. Brevard declared the meeting in adjournment at 1:50 p.m.

APPROVED:

ATTEST:

TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Shawn Brevard, President

Lee Tucker, Secretary