## **Minutes of Special Meeting**

### The Board of Trustees Brackett ISD

A Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Brackett ISD was held Monday, May 23, 2011, beginning at 6:30 PM in the Administration Central Office, 201 N Ann Street, Brackettville.

Members Present: Sondra Meil, Tony Molinar, Dan Laws, Brad Coe, Tony Ashley, Mark Frerich

Administrators: Robert Westbrook, Alma Gutierrez,

Guests: Rick Alvarado, Marla Madrid, Susan Esparza

- CALL TO ORDER / ESTABLISH QUORUM Presenter: SONDRA MEIL The special meeting was called to order by Sondra Meil at 6:30 p.m., with a quorum present.
- ACKNOWLEDGE ELECTED / APPOINTED BOARD MEMBERS Information Presenter: Sondra Meil Brad Coe, Dan Laws, and Mark Frerich were acknowledged as having a signed Statement of Elected/Appointed Officer on file and having taken the Oath of Office.

The board convened into a closed session at 6:36 p.m., pursuant to Gov't Code 551.074.

- 3. PERSONNEL, PURSUANT TO GOV'T CODE 551.074 Closed Session Presenter: SONDRA MEIL
  - A. CONSIDER LETTER OF RESIGNATION, BOARD MEMBER
  - B. CONSIDER APPOINTMENT FOR VACANT POSITION ON BOARD

The board reconvened into open session at 7:15 pm., and took the following action on items 4 & 5:

4. LETTER OF RESIGNATION Action Presenter: SONDRA MEIL A motion was made by Dan Laws to accept the resignation of board member John Paul Schuster, effective May 16, 2011. Tony Ashley seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

### 5. APPOINTMENT OF NEW BOARD MEMBER

Action

Presenter: SONDRA MEIL

A motion was made by Tony Molinar to accept the appointment of Rick Alavarado to the Board of Trustees, until the next election in May, 2012. Brad Coe seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

# 6. STATEMENT OF ELECTED / APPOINTED OFFICER & OATH OF OFFICE Action

Presenter: NOTARY PUBLIC SUSAN ESPARZA A Statement of Elected/Appointed Officer was signed by Rick Alvarado and the

Oath of Office administered by Notary Public Susan Esparza.

### 7. REORGANIZATION OF SCHOOL BOARD OFFICERS

Action

Presenter: ROBERT WESTBROOK

Robert Westbrook opened the floor for nominations for President. A motion was made by Brad Coe to nominate Sondra Meil. Tony Ashley seconded. Following a unanimous vote, Sondra Meil was named President.

Sondra Meil opened the floor for nominations for Vice-President. A motion was made by Brad Coe to nominate Dan Laws. Tony Ashley seconded. Following a unanimous vote, Dan Laws was named Vice-President.

Sondra Meil opened the floor for nominations for Secretary. A motion was made by Tony Ashley to nominate Tony Molinar. Dan Laws seconded. Following a unanimous vote, Tony Molinar was named Secretary.

# ADJOURN Presenter: PRESIDING OFFICER With no objections, the meeting was adjourned at 7:25 p.m.

Sondra Meil, Board President

Tony Molinar, Secretary

Date