TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES SPECIAL CALLED MEETING MAY 8, 2015

The Board of Trustees of the Tupelo Public School District convened in a special called meeting of the Board held in open session at noon on Friday, May 8, 2015, at the Hancock Leadership Center, 1920 Briar Ridge, Tupelo, Mississippi.

I. CALL TO ORDER

Board President Kenneth Wheeler called the meeting to order.

II. ROLL CALL AND ESTABLISHMENT OF A QUORUM

Board members present during roll call were: Mrs. Sherry Davis, Mr. Joe Babb, Mr. Eddie Prather, and Mr. Kenneth Wheeler. Mr. Rob Hudson was absent. Mr. Wheeler announced that four members were present constituting a quorum.

Also in attendance were Superintendent Gearl Loden, Dr. Diana Ezell, Mrs. Kimberly Britton, Dr. Eddie Peasant, Mrs. Modesty Shumpert, Ms. Patrice Tate, and Attorney Otis Tims. Members of the press were also present.

Board President Kenneth Wheeler announced: ""Pursuant to the Mississippi Open Meetings Law, Sections 25-41-1 through 25-14-17 of the Mississippi Code, this meeting was called for the purpose of conducting a special called meeting to consider personnel recommendations."

III. CONSIDERATION OF LICENSED STAFF

Board President Kenneth Wheeler handed the gavel to Vice President Joe Babb and recused himself from any discussion and vote of the personnel recommendations due to a conflict of interest.

Superintendent Gearl Loden recommended approval of the following licensed personnel:

LICENSED PERSONNEL

NEW PERSONNEL:

- Ms. Carmen Gary, Assistant Principal at Pierce Street for the 2015-16 school year, replacing Ms. Tracey Gregory.
- Ms. Betsy Grubbs, Assistant Principal at THS, replacing Mr. Tim Carter, effective July 1, 2015.

CHANGE OF STATUS:

- Ms. Cynthia Pike from Assistant Principal at Lawhon to Principal at Thomas Street, replacing Mr. Jephrey Chism, effective July 1, 2015.
- Mr. Ryan Curry from Secondary Teacher at TMS to Assistant Principal at Lawhon, replacing Ms. Cynthia Pike.

TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES – SPECIAL CALLED MEETING MAY 8, 2015, 12 NOON HANCOCK LEADERSHIP CENTER

IN-DISTRICT TRANSFER:

- Mr. Ian Shumpert from Assistant Principal at Lawndale to Assistant Principal at TMS, replacing Mr. Bobby Cossey.
- Ms. Melissa Thomas from Assistant Principal at THS to Principal at Lawndale, replacing Mr. Brock English, effective for 15-16 school year.

Upon motion by Mrs. Sherry Davis, seconded by Mr. Eddie Prather, the personnel recommendations were approved by the following roll call vote.

Board Member Mrs. Sherry Davis

Board Member Joe Babb

Voted: Yea

Voted: Yea

Voted: Yea

Voted: Absent

Voted: Yea

Voted: Absent

Voted: Yea

The motion having received the affirmative vote of a majority of the members present and voting, the Vice President of the Board of Trustees declared the motion carried and the personnel recommendations approved.

A copy of the Personnel Report is marked EXHIBIT 1 and held in the Exhibit Book of this meeting date and incorporated herein.

Dr. Loden introduced the new staff members to the Board of Trustees.

Mr. Babb handed the gavel back to President Wheeler.

IV. ADJOURNMENT

Mr. Wheeler entertained a motion to adjourn. Mrs. Davis made a motion, seconded by Mr. Prather, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion was adopted unanimously by all members present, and the meeting stood adjourned at 12:12 p.m.

APPROVED:	ATTEST:
TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES	
Kenneth Wheeler, President	Eddie Prather, Secretary