



| то: | BOARD CHAIRS OF ALPENA, ALCONA, IOSCO, MONTMORENCY, AND OSCODA COUNTIES |
|-------|---|
| FROM: | ELISA SELTZER AND KRISTEN WIELAND, RRS |
| DATE: | 10.31.2024 |
| RE: | FINAL STEP FOR APPROVAL OF NOMINEES FOR MMP COMMITTEE |

The interlocal agreement that was fully executed on June 25, 2024 (section H.3) specifies that the final step in seating a Materials Management Planning committee is for each member county's Board to review and vote (majority) on the final listing, as recommended by NEMCOG Board, within 45 days.

At its October 11 meeting, the NEMCOG Board reviewed and made recommendations for the final Materials Management Planning committee that your boards put forth for consideration. We request that your board review and vote to approve the following organizations to represent the 5-county region for development of a Materials Management Plan.

- For the position of solid waste disposal facility operator: **MOA Solid Waste Management Authority** (Chair to appoint a specific person)
- For the position of representative of a hauler of managed material: **GFL representative** (*GFL to appoint a specific person*)
- For the position of representative of a materials recovery facility: Northeast MI Materials Management Authority representative (Chair to appoint a specific person)
- For the position of composting facility or anaerobic digestor operator: **City of Alpena** (City to appoint a specific person)
- For the position of waste diversion, reuse, or reduction facility operator: **NE MI Habitat for Humanity** (*President to appoint a specific person*)
- For the position of representative of an environmental interest group that has members residing in the planning area: **Huron Pines RC&D** (*Chair to appoint a specific person*)
- For the position of elected official of a county: Cheryl Neilsen, Clerk (Montmorency County)
- For the position of elected official of a township: Susan Avery, Big Creek Township (Oscoda County)
- For the position of elected official of a city or village **City of Harrisville** (Council President or Mayor to appoint a specific elected official)
- For the position of representative of a business that generates a managed material: **Omni Industries** (CEO to appoint a specific person)
- For the position of representative of the regional planning agency whose territory includes the planning area: **NEMCOG (Chair to appoint a specific person)**

For your additional information, but not necessary to include in the vote: **County appointees (automatic appointment) include:**

- Bill Peterson, County Commissioner (Alpena County)
- Terry Small, County Commissioner (Alcona County)

- Terry Dutcher, County Commissioner (losco County), with all rights and privileges granted to Jamie Carruthers-Soboleski, County Controller
- Michelle Hamlin, County Commissioner (Montmorency County)
- Jackie Bondar, County Commissioner (Oscoda County), with all rights and privileges granted to Michelle Knepp, County Administrator

Business appointees (automatic appointment) include:

- Cooper Standard Industries (Oscoda County)
- P&L Development, David Langley (losco County)
- No businesses were appointed from Alpena, Montmorency, or Alcona County