## **Denton Independent School District Board of Trustees Certificates of Recognition** Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2009

## HAWKEYE READING CONTEST WINNERS

The late Mildred McCauley Hawk was an extremely well-known Denton resident and literacy advocate, whose mission was to help others - especially young people. In fact, her mission statement was "We're here to help others." One of her great joys was helping elementary students with their reading skills.

During the 1999-2000 school year, she established the Hawkeye Reading Contest for third-grade students. It greatly helped the Denton ISD literacy programs.

Prior to her death in 2004, Mrs. Hawk donated \$50,000 to the Denton Public School Foundation to provide adequate funds to make this important literacy program an annual event.

The third-grade students with the most Accelerated Reader or Reading Counts points during the established dates placed in the contest. Each winning student is given the following monetary award:

- 1<sup>st</sup> place award of \$25 and a 1<sup>st</sup> place ribbon
  2<sup>nd</sup> place award of \$15 and a 2<sup>nd</sup> place ribbon
  3<sup>rd</sup> place award of \$10 and a 3<sup>rd</sup> place ribbon

The winners of the contest are:

Borman	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Taylor Schaab Gabriel Aponte Keausha Harrison
Evers	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Caitlan Belshaw Hannah Guerrero Haylee Bradshaw
Ginnings	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Gabriella Mantecon Edith Rojas Reed Wilhoit
Hawk	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Andrew Winn Mekenzie Erickson Madison Owen
Hodge	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Macie Smith Angela Harding Luke Owens
Houston	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Nika Guzman Alexis Stokes Madeleine Hall
Lee	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Jazmyn Robles Giselle Hernandez Cassidy Hobon

McNair	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Liet Bourbon Serena Khatri-Chhetri Eniola Akinniyi
L. A. Nelson	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Ciara Carlson-Hargis Ashley Stolle Jacob Gomez
E. P. Rayzor	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Nathan Gates Benjamin Leonard Erica Wilson
Newton Rayzor	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Joan Arias Genaro Vasquez Rafael Alvarez
Paloma Creek	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Emilee Wolfe Justin Weed Naisola Kantai
Pecan Creek	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Dylan Bourey Austin Deng Matthew Patterson
Providence	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Alec Lawrence Aiden Dalrymple Keelan Wager
Rivera	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Juan Fernandez Billy Jackson Jesus Santos
Savannah	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Caroline Jackson Triston Ramos Brant Bennett
Stephens	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Sydney Lovick Cecelia Poulter Lindsay Rye
W. S. Ryan	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Abhishek Shah Alex Roussos Collin Renfro
Wilson	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Emily Terry Joseph Frisby Aysha Terra-Turgeon

These school winners participated in the district-wide contest. The Hawkeye Reader winners for the Denton Independent School District will be announced at the meeting. The district winners will receive:

First place: Ciara Carlson-Hargis – L.A. Nelson Elementary School - \$125

Second place: Edith Rojas – Ginnings Elementary School - \$75 Third place: Jazmyn Robles – Lee - \$50

Tanya McGlothlin, coordinator of elementary language arts for third through fifth grade, and other members of the curriculum staff will make the presentations.