RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, on January 8, 2002, President Bush signed into law the *No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act of 2001*, which applies to all school districts and schools within states that accept federal Title 1 dollars; and

WHEREAS, the Coppell Independent School District supports the goals of NCLB of raising student achievement; closing the achievement gap; and ensuring that each child has a highly qualified teacher; and

WHEREAS, the Coppell Independent School District continues to welcome the accountability for improving student and school performance; and

WHEREAS, the Coppell Independent School District has had four years of operational experience in implementing NCLB and;

WHEREAS, the Coppell Independent School District has identified improvements that could be made to NCLB that would eliminate barriers to full implementation of the federal law; and

WHEREAS, the National School Boards Association (NSBA) developed draft legislation based on input from local school boards across the nation that would address the concerns of local school boards, and improve the implementation of NCLB; and

WHEREAS, in April 2006 the NSBA Delegate Assembly re-affirmed its support of federal legislation that is consistent with the NSBA draft legislation, and

WHEREAS, in January 2007 Representative Don Young (R-AK) re-introduced legislation, the *No Child Left Behind Improvements Act of 2007*, H.R. 648, that is consistent with the NSBA draft legislation; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Coppell Independent School District urges Representative Kenny Marchant to fully support H.R. 648 by becoming a co-sponsor of the bill, and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Coppell Independent School District seeks the support of local community and civic leaders and appropriate members of the Texas State Legislature in encouraging Representative Kenny Marchant to become a co-sponsor of H.R. 648, and be it finally

RESOLVED, that copies of this resolution be sent to members of the Texas U.S. congressional delegation, the governor, the members of the Texas State Legislature, local public governing officials, and the Commissioner of Education, Shirley J. Neeley.

Adopted this _____ day of June, 2007.

President, Board of Trustees Coppell ISD

Secretary, Board of Trustees Coppell ISD