DRAFT

Minutes of the May 21, 2011 Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on May 21, 2012 at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Anthony Hill.

Members present:, President; Anthony Hill; David Apple, Vice President; Susie Kemp, Secretary; Thom Hulme; Amy Dungan; Cindy Warner and Bennett Ratliff. A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on May 18, 2012 at 5:05 p.m.

Great Educators Matter (GEM) recognition for the third quarter was held in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building.

NEW BUSINESS

President Hill presented the results of the May 12, 2012 school board election (attached).

<u>Place</u>	<u>Candidate</u>	<u>Votes</u>	<u>Percentage</u>
6	Carrie Clark	1,090	38.02%
6	Judy Barbo	1,777	61.98%
7	Charlie Biggurs	466	16.89%
7	Tracy Fisher	2,293	83.11%

After canvassing the election results, President Hill certified the election and declared Judy Barbo winner in Place 6, and Tracy Fisher winner in Place 7.

Cindy Warner made a motion to approve the Order Declaring Results of Trustee Election. Bennett Ratliff seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

A Certificate of Election was issued to the newly elected officers.

Kay Ryon, Board Assistant Secretary, administered the Officer's Statement and Oath of Office to the newly elected Board members: Judy Barbo (Place 6) and Amy Fisher (Place 7).

President Anthony Hill conducted the election of Board Officers.

Susie Kemp made a motion to elect Anthony Hill to the office of President to the Board of Trustees. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Amy Dungan made a motion to elect David Apple to the office of Vice-President of the Board of Trustees. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

David Apple made a motion to elect Susie Kemp to the office of Secretary of the Board of Trustees. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Amy Dungan made a motion to appoint Kay Ryon as Assistant Secretary to the Board. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

At 6:52 p.m., President Hill declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (Personnel Matters).

President Hill declared the Board in Open Session at 7:30 p.m.

Staff present: Dr. Jeff Turner, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Assistant Secretary; Sid Grant; Kelly Penny; Dr. Marilyn Denison; Brad Hunt; Tamerah Ringo; Tracey Wallace; Mike Jasso; Ron-Marie Johnson; Chad Branum; Leanne Dorhout; Louis Macias; Jean Mosley; Amanda Ziaer; and Curriculum Staff

The invocation was given by Thom Hulme.

AWARDS

Top 10 Graduating Seniors – CHS and NTH@C
International Delta Epsilon Chi (DECA) Awards
National Journalism Awards
Texas National Distinguished Principal – Pam Mitchell (Mockingbird Elementary)
2011 National School of Character – Mockingbird Elementary
Recognition of 30 years of service to CISD – Gay Dobecka, Jennifer Kryzak, and Wayne Neal
TASB Media Honor Roll – Jane Moore (The Citizens' Advocate)

OPEN FORUM

The following individuals addressed the Board during the Open Forum portion of the meeting:

Tony Moline presented a Resolution Concerning High Stakes, Standardized Testing of Texas Public School Students passed by the Chamber of Commerce Board.

Elizabeth Chappell gave each Board Member a Creative Writing Competition book.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS:

BOARD REPORTS

President Anthony Hill – Coppell Education Foundation, IBM GIGA WOT (Girls Inspired Greatly About the World Of Technology), CMS MSI North Teach the Teachers & Executive eWeek at Pinkerton, and North Lake College North Campus – Executive Community Council

BOARD MEMBERS

Thom Hulme – Student Health Advisory Council (SHAC) and National School Boards Association (NSBA) Conference

SUPERINTENDENT REPORT

Senate Bill 1557 – Dr. Jeff Turner Renaming of the Education Annex – Brad Hunt Technology Update – Chad Branum

CONSENT

Thom Hulme made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of meeting held on April 23, 2012
- 2. Approve Monthly Budget Amendments for 2011-2012
- 3. Approve Financial Report for April 2012
- 4. Approve Budget Amendment for Child and Nutrition Department
- 5. Approve Memorandum of Understanding Regarding Dallas County Juvenile Justice Alternative Education Program (DCJJAEP)

Amy Dungan seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

ACTION

Item B (Consider approving offer by Dallas County Schools to purchase buses owned by Coppell ISD) was removed and will be considered at a later meeting when more information is available.

Thom Hulme made a motion to amend the construction contract between Coppell ISD and Balfour Beatty Construction to include the Guaranteed Maximum Price of \$877,033 as proposed by Balfour Beatty for the Phase Six Bond Projects as listed on the project list, and that Sid Grant or Dr. Jeff Turner be authorized to sign the necessary documents. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Thom Hulme made a motion to accept all resignations for CISD professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Amy Dungan made a motion to accept the new hires as recommended by the Superintendent. Susie Kemp seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

David Apple made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 9:51 p.m.

A	
Anthony Hill, Board President	
Susie Kemp, Secretary	