AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:30 P.M., September 16, 2014, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present: Dr. Steve Brown Ray Beaty, D.C Teri Ervin Nelson Minyard Dr. Donna C. Smith Doyle Woodall

<u>Absent</u>: Luis Galvan

- School Officials: Tom Crowe, Mike Adkins, David Harwell, David Finley, Keith Garinger, Carolyn Gonzalez, Brian Moersch, Kellie Wilks
- Others: Gary Dutchover, Kenneth Myers, Pablo Davila, Hilda Gonzales, Janice Granado, Gerardo Ramirez, Jana Davis, Clelia Carrillo, Betsabe Salcido, Silvia Valls-Berreda, Robin L. Skinner, Andrea Martin, Alicia Syverson, Linda Voss, Sheryl Mahaffey, Tania Hagood, Crystal Castillo, Daniel Loudenback, Lisa Wills, Bridget Loffler, Mary Jane Hutchins, Sharon Story, Mike Atkins, Elaine Sparks, Cynthia McNabb, Mary Franco
- **<u>22487</u>** <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Dr. Steve Brown, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.
- **22488** Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags: The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Ector Junior High School Students Areli Castillo and Charles McClure.
- **<u>22489</u>** Invocation: Invocation was led by Reverend Lyndel Lee, Tanglewood Baptist Church

<u>22490</u> <u>Special Presentations</u>:

Recognition of Campus STAAR Distinctions: Assistant Superintendent of Elementary Education Wendy Hines introduced the following elementary principals/campuses who received STAAR Distinction designations.

Post-Sec Readiness

<u>Campus</u>	Principal	Distinction
GP Alamo	Regina Lee	Student Progress
Austin	Crystal Castillo	Student Progress
Dowling	Valerie Rivera	Science
Gonzales	Alicia Press/Sunny Rodriguez	Reading ELA
		Student Progress
Reagan	Andrea Martin/Wayne Squiers	Reading ELA
-		Student Progress
		Class Performance

Assistant Superintendent of Secondary Education Roy Garcia introduced the following secondary principals/campuses who received STAAR Distinction designations.

<u>Campus</u> NTO Principal Betsabe Salcido Distinction Reading ELA Math Social Studies Post-Sec Readiness

Introduction of Bilingual/ESL Campus Teachers of the Year: Executive Director of Bilingual/ESL Pilar Moreno-Recio introduced the following Bilingual/ESL Campus Teachers of the Year.

<u>Campus</u> Austin	<u>Principal</u> Guadalupe Portillo
Carver	Eva Ramirez
Cavazos	Sylvia Ponce
Dowling	Nora Gonzalez
Fly	Griselda Montes
Goliad	Mandy Hinojos
Hays	Perla Quintana
Jordan	Maribelle Minyard
Lamar	Catalina Bobadilla
Reagan	Napoleon Armendariz
Ross	Maria Rodriguez
Zavala	Ramon Rey Romo
Bonham	Ernesto Nieto
Bowie	Monica Ramirez
Ector	Christina Lopez
NTO	Amy Hoxie
AEC/YC	Nancy Woodard

World Class Leader in Education Award: Public Information Officer Mike Adkins introduced Permian High School English Teacher Sheryl Mahaffey who was recognized as the September World Class Leader in Education.

- 22491 <u>Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law</u>: Dr. Steve Brown, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **22492 Discussion of Superintendent Appraisal Instrument**: Superintendent Tom Crowe met with Ray Beaty, Nelson Minyard, and Dr. Donna Smith to review and revise the appraisal instrument. The revised appraisal instrument was made available to all Trustees for review and discussion.

Dr. Donna Smith asked if increased participation in Advanced Placement and International Baccalaureate courses for economically disadvantaged students be included in the evaluation.

Ray Beaty asked that the form not become too detailed and stated that caution should be taken as to not invoke on micro-managing.

Mr. Crowe will revise and present to Trustees for further review and discussion at the October 14, 2014 Work/Study.

No action required.

22493 Request for Approval of Vendor to Facilitate a Board Self-Evaluation: Moved by Minyard, seconded by Beaty to approve CRSS as Vendor to Facilitate a Board Self-Evaluation as presented.

<u>For:</u>	<u>Against:</u>	<u>Absent:</u>
Beaty	Smith	Galvan
Brown	Woodall	
Ervin		
Minyard		

Motion carried.

22494 Request for Approval of Appointment/Reappointment of Student Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Members: Trustees approved the Reappointment of Student Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Members as presented.

Trustees approved the Appointment of Student Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Members as voted by ballot.

Parent Member Applicants – Two Open Positions:

Rhonda Spikes	Five (5) Votes
Kathy Siepak	Three (3) Votes
Carrie Bronaugh	Two (2) Votes

Community Member Applicants – One Open Position:

Tara Holt	Two (2) Votes
Beth Meyerson	One (1) Vote
Diana Ruiz	Three (3) Votes

Rhonda Spikes and Kathy Siepak will serve on the committee as parent members for a two year term.

Diana Ruiz will serve on the committee as a community member for a two year term.

- **22495** Request for Approval of Consent Agenda: Moved by Minyard, seconded by Ervin to approve Consent Agenda as presented. Brian J. Moersch provided Trustees with a detailed explanation of item D-11, 2015 Health Insurance Premium and Plan Changes.
 - 1. Request for Approval of Minutes of Meetings:

August 12, 2014 – Special Board Meeting August 18, 2014 – Special Board Meeting August 19, 2014 – Regular Board Meeting

- 2. Request for Approval of Bills for Payment
- 3. School Construction Report
- 4. Request for Approval of Purchases over \$250,000
- Request for Approval of Public School District and Open-Enrollment Charter School Agreement 2014-2015 between Ector County ISD and Texas Virtual School Network
- 6. Request for Approval of "Project: UTPB Tutors for Newcomers" Memorandum of Understanding between Ector County ISD and UTPB
- Request for Approval of Memorandum of Understanding between Ector County ISD and GOPB, Inc. Head Start School Readiness Academy – Parent Power Program
- 8. Request for Approval of Interlocal Agreement between ECISD and Communities in Schools of the Permian Basin
- 9. Request for Approval of District/Consultant Agreement between TASA and Ector County ISD
- 10. Request for Approval of Signature Authority for Programs/Reports
- 11. Request for Approval of 2015 Health Insurance Premium and Plan Changes
- 12. Request for Approval of 2014 Paving Improvement Project

Motion unanimously approved.

22496 Request for Approval of Closed Meeting – Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion of Recommendation to Hire Chief of Police; Discussion of Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]:

Board President Dr. Steve Brown convened the Board of Trustees to closed session at 7:15 p.m.

Board President Dr. Steve Brown reconvened the Board of Trustees to open session at 7:22 p.m.

22497 Request for Approval of Recommendation to Hire Chief of Police: Moved by Woodall, seconded by Ervin to approve Recommendation to Hire Todd Hiner as Chief of Police as presented.

Todd Hiner began his career in Law Enforcement twenty-five years ago at the Odessa Police Department. He joined the Ector County ISD Police Department in 1997 and has served as a Master Sergeant for the past seven years.

22498 Request for Approval of Routine Personnel Report: Moved by Smith, seconded by Minyard to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>22499</u> <u>Adjournment</u>: Board President Dr. Steve Brown adjourned the Board meeting at 7:24 p.m.

Board President Dr. Steve Brown Board Secretary Teri Wheat Ervin MEd