MINUTES OF THE BOARD WORKSHOP Held at the Administration Building in Farmington, Utah November 17, 2015, at 4:06 p.m.

Members of the Board present: President Gordon Eckersley, Vice President Mona Andrus, Kathie Bone, Tamara Lowe, Barbara Smith, Larry Smith, and Julie Tanner.

Members of the Board excused: Juliane Berglund, Student Board Member.

Administrators present: Dr. W. Bryan Bowles, Superintendent; Craig Carter, Business Administrator; Pam Park, Assistant Superintendent; Craig Poll, Assistant Superintendent; Rulon Homer, Secondary School Director; Dave Tanner, Secondary School Director; John Sheffield, Elementary School Director; Gwen Hill, Elementary School Director; Helene Van Natter, Elementary School Director; Michelle Beus, Legal Specialist; Tim Leffel, Finance/Accounting Administrator; Dr. Patty Norman, Curriculum Director; Gary Payne, Facilities Administrator; Kathy Chisholm, Special Education Director; and Chris Williams, Community Relations Director.

Welcome and Announcements

President Gordon Eckersley called the meeting to order at 4:06 p.m. and reviewed the announcements.

Reverence

The reverence was offered by Barbara Smith.

WORKSHOP ITEMS

Audit Report

Tim Leffel, Finance/Accounting Administrator, reviewed the process followed to close our fiscal year. He also reviewed the fund balance status as of June 30, 2015.

Dave Brown, from Squire and Company, our external audit firm, reviewed the audit process and their findings. The District received an unmodified opinion in accordance with accounting guidelines.

New High School Design

Gary Payne introduced Jeannie Jackson, Boyd McAllister, and Alex Booth from VCBO. The architects presented and reviewed the new high school design with the Board.

2016-17 School Calendar

Helene Van Natter reviewed the proposed 2016-17 school calendar with the Board.

Boundaries for Elementary Schools 61 and 62

Elementary school directors, Helene Van Natter, John Sheffield, and Gwen Hill reviewed the boundary process and shared the proposed boundary maps with the Board.

Public Comments Follow-up

Kathie Bone reviewed the comments received from the Davis High Cluster and the Viewmont High cluster with Board members.

The Board Workshop adjourned at 6:27 p.m.

- - - - - - - - - - - -

MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL OPEN MEETING Held at the Administration Building in Farmington, Utah November 17, 2015, at 6:35 p.m.

Members of the Board present: President Gordon Eckersley, Vice President Mona Andrus, Kathie Bone, Tamara Lowe, Barbara Smith, Larry Smith, and Julie Tanner.

Members of the Board excused: Juliane Berglund, Student Board Member

Administrators present: Dr. W. Bryan Bowles, Superintendent; Craig Carter, Business Administrator; Pam Park, Assistant Superintendent; Craig Poll, Assistant Superintendent; Rulon Homer, Secondary School Director; Dave Tanner, Secondary School Director; John Sheffield, Elementary School Director; Gwen Hill, Elementary School Director; Helene Van Natter, Elementary School Director; Michelle Beus, Legal Specialist; Tim Leffel, Finance/Accounting Administrator; Nathan Lee, Accounts Payable Director; and Larry Faddis, Internal Audit Director; and Chris Williams, Community Relations Director.

President Gordon Eckersley called the meeting to order at 6:35 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance

Julie Tanner led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Bond Election Canvas Results

Barbara Smith made a motion to accept the canvass of election results and the Board declares the bond passed by 61.57% vs. 38.43% with the total yes votes 31,821 and the total no votes 19,859. Tamara Lowe seconded the motion.

President Gordon Eckersley, Vice President Mona Andrus, Kathie Bone, Tamara Lowe, Barbara Smith, Larry Smith, and Julie Tanner voted in favor. There were none in opposition.

INFORMATION ITEMS

Board and Superintendent Reports

Larry Smith reported attended the STEM Expo. He enjoyed the activities and meeting the vendors.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

The following comments were made:

Brenda Bacon, Endeavour Elementary PTA President, does not want to be moved to Eagle Bay Elementary.

Tyra Williamson, Endeavour Elementary parent, wants to stay at Endeavour Elementary.

Lindsey Cowdin, Endeavour Elementary parent, wants to stay at Endeavour Elementary. If they are moved, she wants what they have at Endeavour Elementary.

Jamie Francum, Endeavour Elementary parent, loves Endeavour Elementary, and wants to stay there.

Brian Williamson, Endeavour Elementary parent, wants to stay at Endeavour Elementary because of the level of education there.

Julie Tanner made a motion to adjourn. Vice President Mona Andrus seconded the motion.

President Gordon Eckersley, Vice President Mona Andrus, Kathie Bone, Tamara Lowe, Barbara Smith, Larry Smith, and Julie Tanner voted in favor. There were none in opposition.

The meeting adjourned at 7:00 p.m.