AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., May 16, 2017, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present:

Absent: Teri Ervin

Delma Abalos Ray Beaty, D.C. Dr. Steve Brown Carol Gregg Nelson Minyard Dr. Donna C. Smith Dovle Woodall

School Officials: Tom Crowe, Mike Adkins, David Harwell, Roy Garcia, Keith

Garinger, Carolyn Gonzalez, Ann McClarty, Brian Moersch, David

Morris, Todd Vesely, Kellie Wilks

Others: Mike Atkins, Priscilla Garza, Jason Leverett, Kamye Smith, Chris &

Annie Stanley, Christian & Shara Akins, Gary Wynne, Lauren Poindexter, Christina Escobar, Janice Granado, Pam Walker, Marlane Burns, Martha Mitchell, Elaine Smith, Jacob Bargas, Mauricio Romero, Lisa Wills, Larry & Brandy Hines, Hank Herrick, Stacy Johnson, Wayne Squiers, Sherry Palmer, Jim Palmer, Sandra Banda, Marissa King, Kathleen Weilby, Sylvia A. Garcia, Cvnthia

McNabb, Mary Franco

**<u>Meeting Called to Order</u>**: Steve Brown, Board Vice-President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

<u>Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags</u>: The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Lamar Early Education Center Students Isaac Rivera and Analy Sotelo.

**23732 Invocation:** Invocation was led by Reverend Russ Nebhut, Asbury United Methodist Church.

#### **23733** Special Presentations:

Extra Mile Award Memorial Presentation to Wendy Hines' Family: Wendy Hines' husband Larry and daughter Brandy were presented with an Extra Mile Award in her memory. The family gifted the award back to the District to be displayed at the Administration, where they felt it would be most appreciated.

**United Way of Odessa Student Presentation**: Odessa High School senior Alexis Morales was recognized for her outstanding work with the United Way Board's Allocation Committee.

**World Class Leader in Education**: Campus Curriculum Facilitator Whitney Squyres was recognized as the May World Class Leader in Education.

Introduction of the Top 10 Graduates from George H.W. Bush New Tech Odessa, Odessa High School, and Permian High School: The Top 10 Graduates from George H.W. Bush New Tech Odessa, Permian High School and Odessa High School were introduced by their respective principals:

## The Top 10 Graduates from George H.W. Bush New Tech Odessa

- 1) Ana Trueba, Valedictorian
- 2) Nehal Kamel, Salutatorian
- 3) Kirsten Nieto
- 4) Jessica Gonzalez
- 5) Valerie Muniz
- 6) Megan Siepak
- 7) Frolynn Cotiamco
- 8) Kardelen Ertekin
- 9) Michaela Smith
- 10) Orlando Campos

# The Top 10 Graduates from Odessa High School

- 1) Radha Patel, Valedictorian
- 2) Candice Cirilo, Salutatorian
- 3) Viney Regunath
- 4) Vamsi Vemulapalli
- 5) Mauricio Romero
- 6) Angela Bacani
- 7) Mia Stanley
- 8) Edgardo Montemayor
- 9) Gabriela Arenivas
- 10) Tiara Salazar

#### The Top 10 Graduates from Permian High School

- 1) Jaime Garza Jr., Valedictorian
- 2) Slade Lee, Salutatorian
- 3) John Robert Poindexter
- 4) Kimearl Cupidos
- 5) Heather Smith
- 6) Hunter Wynne
- 7) Jonathan Alvarez
- 8) Dylan Straw
- 9) Cason Leverett
- 10) Leonor Herrera

- <u>Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:</u> Nelson Minyard, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- Request for Approval of Order Canvassing May 6, 2017 Board of Trustees

  Election Returns and Administration of Board of Trustees' Oath of Office:

  Moved by Gregg, seconded by Smith to approve Order Canvassing May 6, 2017 Board of Trustees' Election Returns as presented.

Judge Stacy Trotter administered the Board of Trustee's Oath of Office.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Appointment of TASB Delegate and Alternate: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Smith to approve appointment of Doyle Woodall as Delegate and Nelson Minyard as Alternate of the Delegate Assembly of the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB).

Motion unanimously approved.

23737 Request for Approval of Meal Prices for 2017-2018 School Year: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Minyard to approve Meal Prices (Option 3) for 2017-2018 School Year as presented.

For: Against: Abstained: Abalos

Brown Gregg Minyard Smith Woodall

Motion passed.

Request for Approval of Board Policy FFA (Local) Student Welfare:
Wellness and Health Services (Second Reading): Moved by Gregg,
seconded by Smith to approve Board Policy FFA (Local) Student Welfare:
Wellness and Health Services (Second Reading) as presented.

For: Against: Abstained: Abalos

Brown Gregg Minyard Smith Woodall Motion passed.

#### 23739 Request for Approval of Consent Agenda: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Woodall to approve Consent Agenda as presented.

1. Request for Approval of Minutes of Meetings:

April 11, 2017 – Board Work Study Meeting April 18, 2017 – Regular Board Meeting

- 2. Request for Approval of Bills for Payment
- 3. School Construction Report
- 4. Request for Approval of 2017-2018 Gale Pond/Alamo Year-Round School Calendar
- 5. Request for Approval of Medicare Resolution
- 6. Request for Approval of Low Attendance Waiver
- 7. Request for Approval of Field Placement Interagency Affiliation Agreement between Ector County ISD and Angelo State University
- 8. Request for Approval of Odessa High School Boys Gymnastics Out-of-State Travel to Tempe, Arizona
- 9. Request for Approval of Family, Career & Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) Student Out-of-State Travel to Nashville, Tennessee
- 10. Request for Approval of Roofing Consulting Services RFQ at Various Campuses
- 11. Request for Approval of Selection of Authorized Broker
- 12. Request for Approval of Budget Amendment #5
- 13. Request for Approval of Quarterly Investment Report
- 14. Request for Approval of Purchases over \$50,000

For: Abstained: Against: Abalos Beaty Brown

Gregg

Minyard

Smith

Woodall

Motion passed.

## Request for Approval of Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 23740 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion of Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]:

No session held.

<u>23741</u>	Adjournment: meeting at 7:17		Vice-President	Steve	Brown	adjourned	the	Board
	-	-						
	Board Vice-President			Board Secretary				
	Dr. Steve Brown	Ray Beaty, D.C						