DRAFT

Minutes of the August 30, 2021 – Special School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met for an Emergency Meeting on August 30, 2021at 4:30 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Nichole Bentley.

Members present: Nichole Bentley, President; Leigh Walker, Vice President; Manish Sethi, Secretary; David Caviness; Anthony Hill; Tracy Fisher and Dr. Neena Biswas. A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on August 20, 2021, at 4:20 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; and Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant.

The following community members came forward either in person or submitted a virtual comment to be read by staff member, Amanda Simpson in Open Forum:

Benjamin Greenberg – Mask Mandate Amit Khera – Universal Masking Yufang Liu – Mask Mandate Katie Clower – Gov. Order on Mask Mandate Yun Cherie Cao – Mask Mandate Denise Burgos - COVID measures- Masking Chai Lee – Mask Mandate Junjie Xu – Mandate Mask Chee-Kwee Ea – Mask Mandate Jayashree Arunachalam – Mask Mandate Claire Hess – Mask Requirement in Schools Sarah King – Mask Mandate Ann Davis – Exec. Order GA-38 Amanda Davis – Mask Mandate Sherilyn Fox – Exec. Order GA-38 Amanda Davis – School Safety-Masking Heather Snyder – mask Mandate Amy & Ian Mackinnon – Mask Mandate Parul Singh – Mask Requirements Kiran Bachhawat – Mask Mandate Sara Ratliff – Mask Choice Dwight & Kristen Shaper – Mask Mandate Aditya Patil – Mask Mandate Noopur Diwekar – Mask Mandate Deanna Feaster – Masks Carrie Sharma – Mask Mandates a

David Greenberg – Mask Mandate Sally Wiethoff – Universal Mask Mandate Rauna Dallman – Keeping Mask Optional Sarah Wingfield – Masking in Schools Jinmei Lin – Mandate Masks in Schools Weilin Lu – Mask Mandate Timothy Hess – Mask Mandate Tuo Li – Mask Mandate Yuxiao Sun – Mask Mandate Gia Gillis – Mask Mandate Dawei Wang – Mask Mandate Vivek Prakash – Health/Masking Sam Udovich – Exec. Order GA-38 Leroy Wilson - School Mask Choice Jennifer Smith – Masking Zarin Pathan – Mask Mandate Abhijit Godbole – Mask Mandate Armand Steffens – Masks Tracy Elliott – Mask Mandate Niresh Sivathasan – Mask Mandate Maheshika Ratnavake – Mask Mandate Nishan Sivathasan – Facemask Rahul Singh – Mask Mandate Taria Greenberg – Mask Mandate Jing Xu – Mask Mandate

DRAFT

At 5:55 p.m., President Bentley declared the Board in Closed Session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.071 – Attorney Consultation.

President Bentley declared the Board in Open Session at 6:56 p.m.

Manish Sethi moved that the Coppell Independent School District approve a temporary district wide mask requirement for its students, staff, and visitors, while indoors at District facilities and on District provided transportation, subject to medical, religious, philosophical, or administrative exception, beginning September 2nd until close of business on September 27th, or until there are further requirements as a result of ongoing state and federal litigation - or other applicable legislative action. David Caviness seconded the motion. Trustee Fisher made a motion to amend Trustee Sethi's motion to remove religious, philosophical, and administrative exceptions from the motion language. Trustee Fisher's amendment to the motion did not receive a seconded. A vote was taken on Trustee Sethi's original motion and the motion passed 6-0. Trustee Neena Biswas abstained from the vote.

Trust Fisher made a motion to amend the approved motion to remove religious, philosophical, and administrative exception from the motion language. The motion did not receive a second.

Trustee Fisher motioned to amend the approved motion to include metrics to the motion language. The motion did not receive a second.

A motion was made by Leigh Walker and seconded by Tracy Fisher to adjourn the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 7:35 p.m.

Nichole Bentley, Board President

Manish Sethi, Secretary