#### Minutes Charter Authorizing Panel Meeting April 14, 2020

The Charter Authorizing Panel met on Tuesday, April 14, 2020, remotely via Zoom. Panel Chair Dr. Ivy Pfeffer called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Present: Chair Dr. Ivy Pfeffer, Phillip Baldwin, Dr. Angela Kremers, Toyce Newton, Greg Rogers, Dr. Naccaman Williams

The transcription of this meeting may be accessed on the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education website at the following:

http://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/about-ade/charter-authorizing-panel/minutes/archive/2020

Dr. Pfeffer introduced the Panel members and provided the audience with logistical instructions pertinent to the Zoom meetings proceedings.

### Consent Agenda

1. CAP Minutes –

a. February 18, 2020

Dr. Williams moved, seconded by Mr. Rogers, to approve the Consent Agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

### Action Agenda

## A-1 Request for Open-Enrollment Charter School Amendment: Future School of Fort Smith, Fort Smith

Mayor George McGill provided supportive comments on behalf of Future School of Fort Smith.

Superintendent Boyd Logan, Founding Superintendent Trish Flanagan, and Principal Allison Montiel of Future School of Fort Smith presented an overview of their amendment request to change the grade levels served from 10-12 to 9-12.

A question and answer period followed.

Ms. Newton moved, seconded by Dr. Williams, to approve the applicant's amendment request. Motion carried unanimously.

# A-2 Request for Open-Enrollment Charter School Amendment: LISA Academy,

Assistant Superintendent Luanne Baroni, Superintendent/CEO Fatih Bogrek and Director of Academics Yagmyr Bee presented an overview of LISA Academy's amendment request to add a new K-12 campus in Rogers opening in the fall of 2022 with flexible grade configurations, increasing LISA's enrollment cap by 950 students in a phased-in implementation over multiple years.

A question and answer period followed.

Dr. Williams moved, seconded by Mr. Baldwin, to approve the applicant's amendment request. Motion carried unanimously.

# A-3 Request for Open-Enrollment Charter Public Amendment: The Excel Center, Little Rock

Superintendent Cindy Varner and School Director Greg Wertenberger of The Excel Center presented a request for a waiver of Standard 3-A.6 regarding Board Member Training. The school was granted a waiver of A.C.A. 6-13-629 et seq. for Board Member Training in the original charter application but the associated standard was not included at the time.

A question and answer period followed.

Dr. Kremers moved, seconded by Mr. Rogers, to approve the charter amendment request. Motion carried unanimously.

### A-4 Report by District Conversion Public Charter School: Blytheville High School New Tech, Blytheville

Superintendent Bobby Ashley, High School Principal Jennifer Blankenship and District Curriculum Coordinator Sally Cooke, Literacy Instructional Facilitator and Teacher Robin Sneed and Math Instructional Facilitator and Teacher Angela Parsons presented an update report as prior-requested.

A question and answer period followed.

Staff Attorney Mary Claire Hyatt advised that no motion would be necessary to accept the report.

## A-5 Charter Schools Office Review of District Conversion Public Charter Schools:

Director of Public Charter Schools Tracy Webb provided the Panel with a report on District Conversion Public Charter Schools as of school year 2019-2020.

A discussion period followed.

Chair Pfeffer directed the Charter Schools Office to bring forth this report at the next Charter Authorizing Panel meeting for further discussion.

Next meeting scheduled for May 19, 2020.

### Adjournment

Dr. Williams moved, seconded by Mr. Baldwin, to adjourn. Motion carried unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 1:22 p.m.

Minutes recorded by Freddie Scott

Dr. Ivy Pfeffer, Charter Authorizing Panel Chair