# Minutes State Board of Education Friday, March 13, 2020

The Arkansas State Board of Education (State Board) met Friday, March 13, 2020, in the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (Division) Auditorium. Chair Ms. Diane Zook called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. and she led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Present: Ms. Diane Zook, Chair; Charisse Dean, Vice Dr. Sarah Moore; Dr. Fitz Hill; Ms. Ouida Newton; Ms. Susan Chambers; Ms. Stacey McAdoo, 2019 Arkansas Teacher of the Year; and Mr. Johnny Key, Secretary

Absent: Ms. Kathy McFetridge (phone), Mr. Brett Williamson

# **Changes to the Agenda**

No changes to the agenda.

### Reports

Report on PLC process and work in Arkansas.

Solution Tree's Tim Brown presented information on the concept of a professional learning community (PLC). He said PLCs encourage collaboration and focus for teachers to improve learning and student success as well as progress. Mr. Brown stated to accelerate the growth of our students, it is important teachers have to work collectively.

According to Mr. Brown, schools have to create environment for students and teachers to thrive. PLCs help to influence teachers to work toward individual commitment to improve student outcomes.

He ended his remarks by praising the state for its innovation and high quality PLC schools.

# Congressional App Winners

Due to COVID-19 outbreak, students and staff from South Pike County and Rogers High School were not present to be recognized as winners of the Congressional App contest.

Professional Learning Communities Model Schools Recognition

Solution Tree and DESE recognized Eastside Elementary School in Greenbrier. Ms. Dunlap discussed staff progress with PLC collaboration. She presented anecdotal information on how

the students are progressing and improving. Ms. Dunlap said teachers and staff are all focused on student success. Ms. Zook also commented on the school's exceptional progress in the R.I.S.E imitative and growth score.

Ms. Lori Griffin, Principal, represented Ballman Elementary School in Fort Smith and accepted their recognition being named a Professional Learning Communities Model School. Ms. Griffin shared anecdotal stores of how helpful PLCs have been. She said the program has really helped with teacher retention.

Ms. Missy Walley, ADE Special Projects Director also gave remarks about the updates of schools in the fourth cohort of the PLC process.

#### Computer Science Updates

State Director of Computer Science Education Anthony Owen provided an update about the Computer Science initiative. He presented the 5-year report and discussed the goals for the state to improve student STEM participation.

Mr. Owen also stated that his department puts out a newsletter. He also discussed increases in enrollment for STEM related fields. He said many schools are now offering a full pathway to college credit and industry internships. He noted there are increases in the number of certified teachers able to teach computer science related curriculum.

#### Commissioner's Report

Secretary Key provided updated information about any changes to COVID-19. He said the department is monitoring the situation and advised districts have been implementing their AMI plans

### State Board Member Reports/Comments

Ms. Newton announced the next ESSA Steering Committee meeting will be held via Zoom on April 1<sup>st</sup> at 9:30 a.m.

Ms. McAdoo, Arkansas Teacher of the Year, reported on "Love Teaching Week." She said there were \$600 in donations from local businesses to provide teachers with treats and other goodies. She praised the Arkansas Travelers Baseball Team and the Arkansas State Teachers Association (ASTA) for their donations.

N	ew Business
No new business.	
Pul	blic Comments
No public comments.	
<u> </u>	Adjournment
	Ms. Dean moved, seconded by Ms. Chambers, to
X	X
Ms. Diane Zook	Mr. Johnny Key
Chair	Secreatry of Education