The Waskom School Board convened in regular session on Monday, March 8, 2010, at 7:00 p.m. in the Central Office Conference Room with the following officers and members present: Michael Allwhite, President; Stan Boyd, Vice-President; Charlie Baugh, member; Michelle Thomas, Secretary; Vivian Fields, member; and Jimmy E. Cox, superintendent. Others attending were, Sandra Rodgers, acting secretary; Stu Musick, High School Principal, James Spurlin, Karen Spurlin, Jason Spurlin, Justin Spurlin, Jeff Ramsey, Whitney Keeling, Brandon Edel and Mary Spurlin.

Liz Ratcliff, member; was not present.

Michael Allwhite called the meeting to order and gave the invocation.

# PUBLIC COMMENT

Karen Spurlin spoke regarding her resignation. James Spurlin spoke regarding non renewal of staff member.

## FINANCIAL STATEMENT AND BILLS

The financial statement and bills were reviewed.

# TAX COLLECTOR REPORT

The tax collector report for February was reviewed.

## **REPORTS**

Superintendent's Reports: a) The Financial Update was reviewed,

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Charlie Baugh, to approve the consent agenda as presented. (Minutes of the Regular Meeting on February 8, 2010, School Board Member Resignation, UPDATE 87, Longview Regional Day School Program for the Hearing Impaired Shared Services Agreement.)

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

#### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

The board went into executive session at 7:18 p.m. to discuss Personnel. The executive session closed at 8:45 p.m.

# <u>TRS</u>

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Charlie Baugh, to approve \$500.00 compensation from District Payroll Funds to annually substitute for the TRS Supplemental Compensation for Kathy Johnson-Waskom ISD Business Manager.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

## **PERSONNEL**

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Charlie Baugh, to approve the Elementary School Professional Contracts as presented by Wade Youngblood Elementary School Principal.

#### Term:

Stacy Brown - Pre-Kindergarten Jeannie Carter - Head Start Erin Reeves - Kindergarten Leigh Ann Hearon - Kindergarten Jennifer Allgood - Kindergarten Pat Edmundson - First Grade Barbara Harp - First Grade Tammy Dean - First Grade Emily Roeder - Second Grade Michelle Thompson - Second Grade Jessica Cox - Third Grade LaMia Jimmerson - Third Grade Cheryl Williamson - Third Grade Sharon Oglesby - Third Grade Nancy Franks - Fourth Grade Bonita Cherry - Fourth Grade Linda Lundy - Reading Recovery Mary Foisy - Reading Recovery Melinda Nichols - Special Education Joseph Ellenburg - Special Education Robin Hemy - ESL Gary Wilson - Physical Education **Probationary:** Erica Washington - Second Grade Jennifer Forker - Second Grade Ashley Hooper - Fourth Grade Tucky Phillips - Special Education

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Charlie Baugh, to approve the Middle School Professional Contracts as presented by Rachel Hawkins, Interim Middle School Principal.

Term Amy Bledsoe (10 month) Jamie Burke (10 month) Donna Crocker (10 month) Kelly Daily (10 month) Meagan Goodson (10 month) Sharon Higginbotham (10 month) Ernestine Johnson (10 month) Melinda Nichols (10 month) Tim Rogers (10 month) Carolyn Sharp (10 month) Trudy Springer (10 month) Tammy Witherspoon (10 month) Probationary Leslie Bryant Amber Lowe Leslie Milford (11 month) Brian Nietfeld James Salter (11 month) Rachael Wright

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Charlie Baugh, to approve the High School Professional Contracts as presented by Stuart Musick, High School Principal.

Term

Fields, Ann	Foster, Suzette	Andrews, Ann	Suggs, Ronnie *
Johnson, Gay	Lee, Jack	Johnson, Liz	Counselor *
Lowe, Brian	Sullivan, Penny	Dillard, Jack	
Roberts, David	Sullivan, Michael	Lee, Deborah	
Webb, Gerald	Dyson, Melinda	King, Happy	

Probationary

Phillips, Staci Bradshaw, Angela Jones, Garrett Clark, Kirk

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Charlie Baugh, to approve the District Professional Contracts as presented by Jimmy E. Cox, Superintendent

Term Holly Beshea-Speech Therapist (10 month) Paula Carpenter-Nurse (10 month) Jacquelyn Lower-Librarian (10 month) Sheila Ratcliff-Technology (10 month) Mickey Rodgers-Technology (10 month).

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Charlie Baugh, to accept the resignations of Dennis James, Matt Whatley, Steve Horton, Bubba Jones, Ben Schonfarber, and Karen

Spurlin which will be effective June 4, 2010 and Jim Spurlin, Middle School Principal, which will be effective June 30, 2010.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Charlie Baugh, to employ Beverly Johnson, High School Spanish Teacher on a 10 month probationary contract for 2010/2011 school year, Kiley Kelley, High School Teacher/Coach on a 11 month probationary contract for 2010/2011 school year, and Greg Pearson, High School Teacher/Coach on a 12 month probationary contract for 2010/2011 school year.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

# ADJOURN MEETING

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Charlie Baugh, to adjourn the meeting at 9:39 p.m.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously. So ordered by Michael Allwhite.

President

Secretary