## **STATE OF TEXAS {}**

### WEATHERFORD INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

# **COUNTY OF PARKER {}**

On May 29, 2024 at 8:05 a.m., the Board of Trustees met for a special meeting in the Board Room of the District Services Facility, 1100 Longhorn Drive, Weatherford, Texas, the meeting being open to the public.

<u>Members Present:</u> Mike Guest, President; Brian Catlin, Vice President; Adam Feriend, Secretary; Greg Shaw; and Wally Wallace.

**Members Absent:** Jeff Ford arrived at 8:20 a.m.

### **Administrators and Other School Personnel:**

Dr. Beau Rees, Superintendent; Marie Hernandez, Assistant Superintendent of Academic Services; Kady Donaghey, Assistant Superintendent of Student Services; Cody Lee, Executive Director of Technology; Jana Worthington, Recording Secretary; and other school personnel.

Visitors: None

The President certified that "The Provisions of Section 551.041 Sub Chapter C, Government Code as amended by the 73<sup>rd</sup> Legislature, have been complied with in connection with public notice of this meeting and a quorum is present."

The President recessed the Board into Executive Session at 8:05 a.m. to discuss Personnel. (Sec. 551.074); Student Discipline (Sec. 551.082); Safety and Security (Sec. 551.076); and Property (Sec. 551.072); and Consultation with Attorney (Sec. 551.071). The President reconvened the Board into Open Session at 8:52 a.m.

### **New Business:**

After a motion by Brian Catlin and a second by Adam Feriend, the Board voted unanimously to approve the withdrawal of resignation by Sylvia Morrison.

Greg Shaw moved to approve Shane Smith as principal of Tison Middle School. Wally Wallace seconded the motion, and the motion passed.

Adam Feriend made the motion to appoint Kindra Lucia to fill the remaining term of Place 6 on the Board of Trustees with a second by Jeff Ford. The motion passed 5-1 with Brian Catlin voting no.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 8:54 a.m.

Weatherford Independent School District	
President, Board of Trustees	

ATTEST:
Weatherford Independent School District Secretary, Board of Trustees