AT A SPECIAL WORKSHOP MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING CONFERENCE ROOM $E-2^{nd}$ FLOOR, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 12:00 P.M., JUNE 4, 2013, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

<u>Present</u>: <u>Absent</u>:

Ray Beaty, D.C. Dr. Steve Brown Teri Ervin Luis Galvan Nelson Minyard Dr. Donna C. Smith Doyle Woodall

School Officials: Dr. H.T. Sanchez, David Finley, Carolyn Gonzalez, David Harwell,

Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Raul Moreno

Others: Tanya Duewall, Malcom Tyree, Val Hernandez, Elaine Smith, Wayne

Squires, Mauricio Marquez, Pam Harper, Roy Garcia, Mark McDonald, Jennifer Samp, Deborah Johnson, Nohemi Suarez, Martha Overby, James Ramage, Adrian Vega, Robin Fawcett, Jesse Grimes, Mark Rowden, Damon Jackson, Todd Vesely, Mike Adkins, Mike

Atkins, Lindsay Weaver, Elaine Sparks, Mary Franco

<u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Ray Beaty, D.C., Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 12:12 p.m.

- **Yerification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law**: Ray Beaty, D.C., Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- Request for Approval of Closed Meeting Personnel Matter Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion of Reorganization of the Board of Trustees by naming President, Vice-President and Secretary)

 [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]:

No closed session.

Request for Approval of Reorganization of Board of Trustees naming President, Vice-President and Secretary: The following nominations for Board President were presented:

Ray Beaty, D.C. - Five (5) Votes Dr. Donna Smith – Two (2) Votes The following nominations for Vice-President were presented:

Dr. Steve Brown - Five (5) Votes Nelson Minyard - Two (2) votes

The following nominations for Secretary were presented:

Dr. Donna Smith - Three (3) Votes Doyle Woodall - Four (4) Votes

The following will serve as the 2013-2014 Board of Trustees' Officers for the Ector County Independent School District.

President: Ray Beaty, D.C. Vice-President: Dr. Steve Brown Doyle Woodall

<u>Hays Elementary Profile Presentation</u>: Hays Elementary School Principal Amy Anderson presented a video highlighting day-to-day activities and special projects and programs from the campus.

No action required.

- <u>Discipline Philosophy Conversation</u>: Dr. Sánchez opened by commending the Trustees for wanting to have a discussion on their philosophies on discipline. Dr. Sánchez stated his hope is that this discussion will serve as the foundation of district-wide discipline guidelines guidelines that set the expectations for all schools to follow in regards to rules and consequences for misbehavior. Trustees broke into groups and spent about 90 minutes sharing their thoughts and offering solutions to the following three questions asked by Dr. Sánchez.
 - 1) What do you know, feel, perceive, or have heard is a current problem or issue with the existing discipline process or system?
 - 2) What are solutions for the challenges cited?
 - 3) What does the Board feel its responsibility is here? What does the Board feel is the responsibility of administration?

A follow-up meeting will be held post the discipline committee's revisions and refinement work. A meeting between ECISD leadership and County leadership will also be scheduled for discussion of a Juvenile Justice Alternative Education Program (JJDAEP).

Dr. Sánchez thanked the Trustees for their work and their willingness to have this discussion in an open forum.

No action required.

<u> 22067</u>	Adjournment : Moved by	y Galvan, seconded b	y Woodall to ad	ljourn meeting.
---------------	-------------------------------	----------------------	-----------------	-----------------

Motion unanimously approved.

Ray Beaty D.C., Board President, adjourned the Special Board Workshop at 2:12 p.m.

Board President
Ray Beaty, D.C.

Board Secretary
Doyle Woodall