#### TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES NOON MEETING MINUTES NOVEMBER 10, 2009

The Board of Trustees of the Tupelo Public School District convened in a regular meeting of the Board held in open session at noon on Tuesday, November 10, 2009, at the Hancock Leadership Center, 1920 Briar Ridge, Tupelo, Mississippi.

# CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Vice President Lee Tucker who welcomed guests attending the meeting.

## **ROLL CALL AND ESTABLISHMENT OF A QUORUM**

The following School Board members were present during roll call:

- Members Present Mrs. Amy Heyer Mr. John Nail Mr. Eddie Prather Mr. Lee Tucker
- Members Absent: Mr. Mike Clayborne
- Staff Present: Dr. Randy Shaver Mrs. Diana Ezell Dr. Fred Hill Dr. George Noflin Mr. David Meadows Mrs. Linda Pannell Mrs. Dale Warriner Mrs. Mary Ruth Wright Dr. Derwood Tutor Mr. Jim Turner Mrs. Julie Hinds Mrs. Kay Bishop Mrs. Jennifer Strunk Ms. Patrice Tate Mr. Bobby Sheffield Mr. Kenneth Roberts Mr. Terry Hatch Mr. Larry Harmon

## III. REVIEW OF AGENDA TOPICS

Board Members and Tupelo Public School District staff members reviewed agenda topics and heard reports in a work session type format for the November 10, 2009, meeting of the Board of Trustees as follows:

- A. Consent Agenda
- B. Student Transfer Report
- C. Personnel Report
- D. Docket of Claims and Registers
- E. Statement of Cash Flow for Month-Ending September 30, 2009
- F. First Nine-Weeks Discipline Report
- G. THS Additions and Renovations Project (request for approval was tabled)
- H. TPSD Asset Additions and Deletions
- I. Purchase of Five (5) SPED Buses contingent on AARA funding

## **IV. Executive Session – Personnel Matters**

Board Vice President Lee Tucker suggested to the School Board a temporary executive session to determine the need for a permanent executive session for the purpose of discussing a personnel matters.

On a motion by Mr. Nail, seconded by Mrs. Heyer, the Board voted unanimously to enter temporary executive session for the purpose of determining a need for permanent executive session. Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the Vice President of the Board declared the motion passed.

The room was cleared and the temporary executive session was called to order by Vice President Lee Tucker with the following people present: Mrs. Amy Heyer, Mr. John Nail, Mr. Eddie Prather, Mr. Lee Tucker, Dr. Randy Shaver, Mr. Jim Turner and Ms. Patrice Tate.

The Executive Session was called to order and the Board first considered the reason for entering executive session. Upon a motion by Mr. Nail with a second by Mrs. Heyer the Board voted unanimously to remain in Executive Session for the purpose of discussing personnel matters.

Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the Vice President of the Board declared the motion passed.

Mr. Tucker reopened the meeting to tell all those in attendance the reason for going into Executive Session was to discuss personnel matters.

Following the discussion of the first personnel matter, Mr. Turner left the meeting. Discussion continued regarding personnel matters. No action was taken.

Upon a motion by Mr. Nail with a second by Mrs. Heyer, the Board voted unanimously to come out of Executive Session. Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the Vice President of the Board declared the motion passed.

#### V. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business at this meeting of the Board of Trustees, it was moved by Mr. Nail and duly seconded by Mr. Prather that the Board adjourn. Mr. Tucker declared the meeting in adjournment at 1:45 p.m.

APPROVED:

ATTEST:

TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Mike Clayborne, President

Arlissa Heyer, Secretary