DRAFT

Minutes of the March 29, 2021 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on March 29, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Nichole Bentley.

Members present: Nichole Bentley, President; Leigh Walker, Vice President; Manish Sethi, Secretary; David Caviness; Anthony Hill; Tracy Fisher and Neena Biswas. A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on March 26, 2021, at 3:00 p.m.

At 6:01 p.m., President Bentley declared the Board in Closed Session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.071 – Consultation with Board's Attorney

President Bentley declared the Board in Open Session at 7:10 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Dr. Greg Axelson; Kristen Streeter; Dr. Angie Applegate; Diana Sircar; Amanda Simpson; Dr. Patricia Dawson; Adam Bennett; James Holloway and Maria McCoy

DISTRICT HIGHLIGHTS

Superintendent Hunt spoke about the following district highlights:

- High School Debate Success
- Enrollment Season at CISD
- VASE Winners and CHS Visual Arts Exhibit at Coppell Art Center
- Super Teachers

AWARDS

- The Board of Trustees presented the following awards:
- Youth Art Month State Flag Winner and TAEA State Capitol Exhibit
- KCBY National Emmy Award
- TMEA Band All State

Dr. Neena Biswas gave the Invocation and led the Pledge.

OPEN FORUM

The following community member addressed the Board in Open Forum:

• Sara Ratliff – Masks optional for students/parent choice

DRAFT

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS - SUPERINTENDENT

Dr. Greg Axelson (Chief Operations Officer) provided an update on the ADA/Accessibility Audit. Diana Sircar (Chief Financial Officer) continued discussions regarding the 2021-2022 Budget and Dr. Patricia Dawson (Director of ESL/Bilingual Programs/PreK) and Maria McCoy (Director of Social Studies and LOTE) presented an ESL, Bilingual and LOTE update.

CONSENT

David Caviness made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve minutes of regular Board meeting held on February 25, 2021 and Workshop on March 8, 2021
- 2. Approve Monthly Budget Amendments for March 2021
- 3. Approve Financial Report for February 2021
- 4. Approve the Investment Report for period ending February 28, 2021
- 5. Approve the extension of current depository contracts as allowed by the Texas Education Code 45.205(b)
- 6. Approve the Superintendent's recommendations for the employment of professional personnel
- 7. Approve the TEA Waiver for All Remote Learning at Richard J. Lee Elementary

Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

ACTION

A motion to approve the district administration to negotiate and enter into a contract with the top recommended vendor for custodial services not to exceed \$4,200,000 annually to commence on June 1, 2021 was made by David Caviness and seconded by Manish Sethi. The motion passed 7-0.

Tracy Fisher made a motion that the Board approve the Resolution regarding the ESSER Funds allocated to Coppell ISD. The motion was seconded by Anthony Hill and passed 7-0.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS - BOARD OF TRUSTEES

- Board Workshop Recap Nichole Bentley
- Return to School Task Force and Safety Committee- David Caviness
- Legislative Update Tracy Fisher
- Coppell Education Foundation Leigh Walker
- The Inclusion Committee Nichole Bentley
- North Texas Area Association of School Boards (NTAASB), Coppell Chamber Education Committee and TASA/TASB Virtual Legislative Day – Anthony Hill

DRAFT

At 10:00 p.m., President Bentley called the Board back into Closed Session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.071 – Attorney Consultation, 551.074 - Personnel Matters and Section 551.072 – Deliberations regarding Real Property.

President Bentley declared the Board in Open Session at 10:15 p.m.

A motion was made by Tracy Fisher and seconded by Leigh Walker to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 10:15 p.m.

Nichole Bentley, Board President
Manish Sethi, Secretary