MEETING DATE: September 17, 2018

AGENDA ITEM: Consider Approval/Appointment of District School Health Advisory

Council (SHAC)

PRESENTER: Scott Kessel, Director of Student Services & Safety

ALIGNS TO BOARD GOAL(S): Safety - The District will maintain a safe and orderly environment.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

- Per section 28.004 of the Texas Education Code, "The board of trustees of each school district shall establish a local school health advisory council to assist the district in ensuring that local community values are reflected in the district's health education instruction."
- Also, per section 28.004 of the Texas Education Code, "The board of trustees shall appoint at least five members to the local school health advisory council. A majority of the members must be persons who are parents of students enrolled in the district and who are not employed by the district."

ADMINISTRATIVE CONSIDERATIONS:

- The proposed voting membership includes 17 parents, 10 staff, and 4 students
- The proposed non-voting, at-large membership includes 5 district-level staff and 4 community/business representatives
- The School Health Advisory Council is scheduled to meet five times during the 2018-2019 school year

FISCAL NOTE: None

ADMINISTRATIVE RECOMMENDATION: Administration recommends the approval and appointment of the School Health Advisory Council membership as presented on the following page

School Health Advisory Council

2018-2019

VOTING MEMBERS			
Aledo High Sch	nool		
Jenni Meador	Staff (Y2)	Jo Tilley Jennifer Beck Lucy Bobalik	Parent (Y1) Parent (Y2) Parent (Y2)
Anna Beck	Student – Senior (Y2)	Emma Tilley	Student – Junior (Y1)
Jolie Dover	Student – Senior (Y1)	Caitlin Zimmerman	Student – Junior (Y1)
Aledo Learning	<u>g Center</u>		
Barbara Russell	Staff (Y1)		
Daniel 9th Gra	de Campus		
Erin Finn	Staff (Y2)	Michelle Clark	Parent (Y1)*
Aledo Middle S	<u>School</u>		
Mandy Musselwhite	Staff (Y1)	Mandy Sale LeeAnna Parsons	Parent (Y2) Parent (Y2)
McAnally Inter	mediate School		
Lawrence Keys	Staff (Y1)	Janelle Mosiello	Parent (Y1)*
Coder Element	ary School		
Clay McKenzie	Staff (Y2)	Jeremy Jones Joslyn Spain	Parent (Y2) Parent (Y1)
McCall Elemen	tary School		
Sue Spreier	Staff (Y1)	Hilary Stone Rebecca Dority	Parent (Y1) Parent (Y2)
Stuard Elementary School			
Callie Caldwell	Staff (Y2)	Christen Gullatt Kristen Hoff	Parent (Y1) Parent (Y1)
Vandagriff Elei	mentary School		
Debbie Henrietta	Staff (Y2)	Jennifer Cheak Rebecca Berry	Parent (Y1) Parent (Y1)
Walsh Element	tary School		
Paige Dorsett	Staff (Y2)	Kindle Tuin Kelly O'Donald	Parent (Y2) Parent (Y2)
	NON-VOTING N	<u>IEMBERS</u>	
At-Large Representatives		Community/Business Representatives	
	Executive Director of Professional	Dr. Gina Fowler	Pediatrician
Denise Dugger Scott Kessel	Development & Accountability Director of Student Services & Safety	Fr. Jay Atwood	St. Francis of Assisi
Patty Willhite	Child Nutrition Director	Rebecca Slemmons	Texas Health Resources
Laura Satterfield	Lead Nurse	Jocelyn Karbo	ESC Region 11
Aaron Callahan	Aledo ISD Police	Jocelyn Karbo	Fac Wellion II
(Y1) = Year 1 of Two-Year term (Y2) = Year 2 of Two-Year term			

(Y1) = Year 1 of Two-Year term (Y2) = Year 2 of Two-Year term

 $(Y1)^*$ = Year 1 of One-Year term (for parents at McAnally and DNGC as 1-grade campuses)