

Board of Education

Minutes of The Board of Education

A Called School Board Meeting of the Board of Education of Fort Smith Public Schools was held Tuesday, January 7, 2025 beginning at 5:36 PM in the Service Center, Bldg. B, Auditorium, 3205 Jenny Lind, P.O. Box 1948, Fort Smith, AR 72901.

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Dalton Person, president, called the meeting to order noting seven board members were present. Other board members present were: Mr. Phil Whiteaker, Mr. Davin Chitwood, Mr. Matt Blaylock, Ms. Susan Krafft, Ms. Lynnett Lott, and Ms. Talicia Richardson. District administrators present included: Dr. Terry Morawski, Superintendent; Mr. Allan Marshall, Chief Communications & Engagement Officer; and Ms. Leslie Phelps, Office Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent. Mr. Marshall Ney, of Friday, Eldridge, and Clark, District Attorney was also in attendance via Zoom.

REVIEW/DISCUSSION OF SEARCH FIRM SUBMISSIONS

Mr. Person informed the board a Request for Qualifications (RFG) for superintendent search firms was issued on December 20, 2024. The deadline to submit a response was January 6, 2025 at 4:00 PM. Mr. Person stated that five search firms submitted an RFQ. Those firms were Ray & Associates, Education Partners, McPherson Jacobson, LLC, JG Consulting, and DPI Staffing.

After much discussion, the Board agreed McPherson Jacobson, LLC was the preferred candidate based on the quality of their presentation, experience, a consulting team that is familiar with our area, and a two year post hiring guarantee and involvement.

Mr. Blaylock made a motion to approve McPherson Jacobson, LLC's RFQ and to move forward with McPherson Jacobson, LLC at the time and the manner the board deems appropriate. Ms. Richardson seconded the motion.

Mr. Person requested that the motion be amended to also state to authorize the District and Mr. Person to engage with McPherson Jacobson, LLC after receipt of Dr. Morawski's letter of resignation.

Ms. Richardson amended the motion to reflect that the District will engage in contract negotiations with McPherson Jacobson, LLC following receipt of Dr. Morawski's letter of resignation. Ms. Krafft seconded the motion. The vote passed 7-0.

ADJOURN

There was no further business and the meeting was adjourned at 6:30 PM.

Dalton Person, President

Davin Chitwood, Secretary