AT A SPECIAL BOARD MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., AUGUST 16, 2012, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present:

Absent:

Fay Batch Ray Beaty, D.C. Luis Galvan Dr. Donnie Norwood Tom Pace Dr. Donna C. Smith Yollie Wilkins

- **School Officials:** Hector Mendez, Dr. H.T. Sanchez, Brian Moersch, David Finley, Dr. Karen Kopec, Wendy Hines
- Others: Alicia Syverson, Andrea Martin, Daniel Loudenback, Diana Chavez, Mauricio Marquez, Carla Byrne, Sandy Arneson, Amanda Warber, Lisa Anaya, Natalie Fitzgerald, Gene Collins, Carolyn Gonzalez, Kellie Wilkes, Alicia Press, James Ramage, Mitch Gerig, Donna Ziriax, John landgrave, Crystal Castillo, Berta Saldibar, Paul Armstrong, Rosa Mendoza, Pilar Moreno-Recio, Rob Whatley, Chris Salisbury, R. Purvis, Tonya Houston, Lety Amalla, Pam Kwiatkowstki, Yolanda Carr, Pam Harper, Ken Frasier, Sharyn Smith, Megan Watt Chapman, Omega Loera, Cindy roman, Conrad Turner, Collin Sewell, Roy Garcia, Scott Houston, Diana Mata, Ysmael Lujan, Sherry Palmer, Jim Palmer, Sylvia Sanchez, Lina Perez, David Harwell, Cindy Harbour, Marisol Aranda, Stacy Johnson, Martha Mitchell, Cody Griffin, Val Hernandez, Chuck Isner, Kurt Schubert, Mary Sanchez, Liz Schubert
- **<u>21767</u>** Meeting Called to Order: Ray Beaty, D.C., Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.
- **21768** Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Ray Beaty, D.C., Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- 21769 Consider an Order Calling a Bond Election in the Ector County Independent School District on November 6, 2012, and providing for the Administration of the Election: Superintendent Hector Mendez introduced Collin Sewell, who served as the facilitator of the Community Education and Leadership Group that began in December 2011 evaluating school facilities. Mr. Sewell presented the Community Groups findings and on behalf of the group expressed their support of the Bond Election.

Citizen's Request to address the Board:

Mr. Chris Salisbury Jr. Mr. Royce Purvis Mr. Conrad Turner

No action was necessary.

21770 Take Action on an Order Calling a Bond Election in the Ector County Independent School District on November 6, 2012, and providing for the Administration of the Election: Moved by Norwood, seconded by Pace to take action on an order calling a bond election in the Ector County Independent School District on November 6, 2012, and providing for the Administration of the election.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>21771</u> <u>Adjournment</u>: Ray Beaty, D.C., Board President, adjourned the Special Board Workshop at 7:11 p.m.

Board President Ray Beaty, D.C. Board Secretary Dr. Donna Smith