MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

January 19, 2017

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session January 19, 2017 in the Bluebonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President
Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice President
Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary
Maria Elena Lara
Victor Lopez,
Tony Moreno, and
Anita Shackelford

Also present was Dr. Hector Gonzales, President of the College.

The minutes of the November 17, 2016 and December 8, 2016 regular meetings were read and approved as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Anne Tarski, Dr. Mark Underwood, Ismael Martinez, Wade Carpenter, Derek Sandoval, Margot Mata, Oscar S. Garcia, Gladue Tafolla, Kirk Palermo and Laura Gammill.

Audience to Patrons: None

Reports:

- A. Enrollment Spring 2017 report as presented by Margot Mata
- B. Crystal City Library Project Update as presented by Kirk Palermo
- C. Information Technology Update- Tabled
- D. Review of the first Quarterly Investment report as presented by Anne Tarski

President's Report presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the financial statement as of December 31, 2016 as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice President of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

After convening in open session, Board President Flores called the Board into executive session at 7:35 p.m. to consider:

- A. Evaluation of the President
- B. Employees: Terminated/Resigned/Retired/New Hires/ and Transfers

Upon returning to open session at 9:25 p.m. Board President Flores called the meeting back into open session.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Anita Shackelford to extend President Gonzales' contract through July 31, 2020. Motion carried 6-1.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Dr. Harry O. Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried at 9:27 p.m.

Today's meeting was closed in memory of retirees Terrie Wilson (17yrs), Estella Luna (31yrs), Alberto Garza (33yrs), San Juana Trevino (35yrs), and Yvonne Martinez (36yrs)

Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the	Board
	Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board
	<u> </u>
or. Hector Gonzales, Witness	