2014-3-1d March 25, 2014

WHEREAS, sabbatical leaves are authorized for the primary purpose of increasing the value of the recipient's contribution to the College District by providing the individual a significant opportunity for professional growth, and

WHEREAS, sabbatical leave may be granted, upon application, for study, research, writing, field observations or other suitable purposes and opportunities for additional training, for improving skills and for maintaining currency in the field and are understood to be included as a purpose of sabbatical leave, and

WHEREAS, faculty and qualified staff members are eligible to apply for sabbatical leave upon completion of five years of continuous full-time service and each applicant must initiate the sabbatical leave application process as outlined in the procedures and guidelines, and

WHEREAS, applications for sabbatical leave are evaluated by an elected sabbatical leave committee, the Vice Presidents/Provosts, the Senior District Vice President and the District President, NOW THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED, at the recommendation of the President, that the Board of Trustees of Collin County Community College District approves the following sabbatical leave requests for 2014-2015:

EMPLOYEE	DIVISION	LEAVE PERIOD
James (Chris) Gray	Fine Arts	Fall 2014
Chris Grooms	Communications & Humanities	Fall 2014
Sharon Hirschy	Social & Behavioral Sciences	Fall 2014
Lupita Murillo Tinnen	Fine Arts	Fall 2014