MEMO—OFFICE OF THE PRINCIPAL

Date: May 2, 2023

To: Dr. Kent Mutchler

From: Mr. Tom Rogers

Re: Board Presentation for Tradition of Excellence Award



I want to express my sincere appreciation for the opportunity to present to the Board of Education students whose accomplishments and contributions to Geneva High School exemplify the Tradition of Excellence Award. On Monday, May 8, 2023, we will present to the Board of Education the following students.

A. IDEA (Illinois Design Educators Association) State Qualifiers:

Justin Bobeczko – State Qualifier

Braden Gilsinn – Architectural Design Team – 2nd Place

Amelia Kellen – State Qualifier

Alexander Svoboda – PLTW Capstone – 3rd Place

Ved Vyas – Architectural Design Team – 2nd Place

Dale Waggoner – Architectural Design Team – 2nd Place

Charles Winterhalter – PLTW IED – 2nd Place

These students competed in the **IDEA State Competition** held April 22 at Illinois State University. The IDEA Advisors are **Jean Corkery**, **Jay Markuson and Amanda Oxler**.

B. SkillsUSA – State Qualifiers:

William Bover – State Qualifier

Rachel Carlson - State Qualifier

Alexander Friede – State Qualifier

Braden Gilsinn – State Qualifier

Jacob Hollis - State Qualifier

Amelia Kellen – State Qualifier

Soren Larson – State Qualifier

Bennett Nippert – Engineering Technology Design Team – 6th Place

Roland Sorrentino – Engineering Technology Design Team – 6th Place

Ved Vyas – Computer Programming – 4th Place

Dale Waggoner – State Qualifier

Royce Yeung – Engineering Technology Design Team – 6th Place

These students competed in the **SkillsUSA State Competition** held April 26 – 27 in Springfield, Illinois. The SkillsUSA advisor at Geneva High School is **Jay Markuson**.

C. ICTM State Math Qualifiers:

Ellie Grantcharov – Algebra II Team – 13th Place

Nicholas Grimes – State Qualifier

Alex Howe – Algebra II Team – 13th Place

Claire Jennings – Pre-Calculus Team – 15th Place

Kirill Lunin - State Qualifier

Brock Mason – Jr/Sr 2 Person Team – 10th Place & Pre-Calculus Team – 15th Place

Bennett Nippert – Pre-Calculus Team – 15th Place

Robert Phillippe – State Qualifier

Roland Sorrentino – Algebra II Team – 13th Place

Colin Sprague – Algebra II Team – 13th Place

Ved Vyas – Pre-Calculus Team – 15th Place

Joshua Watson – Jr/Sr 2 Person Team – 10th Place & Pre-Calculus Team – 15th Place

Mason Wiedow – Algebra II Team – 13th Place

Ethan Zibble – Pre-Calculus Team – 15th Place

These students competed in the **ICTM State Math Competition** held on Saturday, April 22, at the University of Illinois. The math team advisor is **John Thomas, Ryan Estabrook** and **Mary Glinke**.

Together, these students distinguished themselves, our school and Geneva District #304. Thank you for this opportunity.