

Board of Education

Minutes of The Board of Education

A Called School Board Meeting of the Board of Education of Fort Smith Public Schools was held Tuesday, April 8, 2025, beginning at 5:30 PM in the Service Center, Bldg. B, Auditorium, 3205 Jenny Lind, P.O. Box 1948, Fort Smith, AR 72901.

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Dalton Person, president, called the meeting to order noting seven board members were present. Other board members present were: Mr. Phil Whiteaker, Mr. Matt Blaylock, Mr. Davin Chitwood, Ms. Susan Krafft, Ms. Lynnette Lott and Mr. Gregory Carthon. District administrators present included: Dr. Terry Morawski, Superintendent; Mr. Marty Mahan, Deputy Superintendent, Dr. Chris Davis, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources and Campus Support; Dr. Tiffany Bone, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction; Charles Warren, Chief Financial Officer; Dr. Michael Farrell, Executive Director of Student Services; Mr. Vance Gregory, Director of Technology; Mr. Allan Marshall, Chief Communications & Engagement Officer; and Ms. Leslie Phelps, Office Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent.

EXECUTIVE SESSION – SUPERINTENDENT SEARCH

At 5:30 PM the Board went into executive session to discuss the superintendent search.

Board members returned to open session at 8:17 PM

DISCUSSION REGARDING SUPERINTENDENT SEARCH

Mr. Whiteaker made a motion, seconded by Mr. Carthon, to select Mr. Martin Mahan superintendent of Fort Smith Public Schools subject to contract negotiations. The vote passed 7-0.

ADJUUKN	
There was no further business and	d the meeting was adjourned at 8:19 PM.
	Dalton Person, President
	Davin Chitwood Socretary