Minutes Charter Authorizing Panel Meeting August 18, 2020

The Charter Authorizing Panel met on Tuesday, August 18, 2020. Panel Chair Deborah Coffman called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Present: Chair Deborah Coffman, Phillip Baldwin, Sonja Wright-McMurray, Dr. Naccaman Williams

The transcription of this meeting may be accessed on the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education website at the following:

http://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/about-ade/charter-authorizing-panel/minutes/archive/2020

Ms. Coffman introduced the Panel members and provided the audience with logistical instructions pertinent to the proceedings.

Consent Agenda

CAP Minutes from July 14, 2020

Dr. Williams moved, seconded by Mr. Baldwin, to approve the Consent Agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

Action Agenda

DESE Attorney Mary Claire Hyatt provided directions for the proceedings. Ms. Coffman swore in the school leadership and explained the voting procedures.

A-1 Consideration of Open-Enrollment Public Charter School Application: Premier High School of Springdale

Superintendent Steven Gast and Director of School Innovation and Expansion Dennis Felton presented an overview of the application for an open-enrollment charter school to be located in Springdale and serve students in grades 7-12.

A question and answer period followed.

Mr. Baldwin moved, seconded by Ms. Wright-McMurray to approve the request for an open-enrollment charter school. Motion carried unanimously.

A-2 Consideration of Open-Enrollment Public Charter School Application: Arkansas AgSTEM Academy

Ms. Greta Greeno, Ms. Shannon Mirus, Mr. Carroll Thetford, Ms. Mary Norris and Mr. Michael VanWinkle presented an overview of the application for an open-enrollment charter school to be located in Harrisburg and serve students in grades 7-12. Mr. Chris Ferrell, Superintendent of the Harrisburg School District, spoke in opposition to the application.

A question and answer period followed.

Ms. Wright-McMurray moved, seconded by Mr. Baldwin, to table the application until the next meeting.

Adjournment

Mr. Baldwin moved, seconded by Ms. Sonja Wright-McMurray, to adjourn. Motion carried unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 1:19 p.m.

Ms. Deborah Coffman, Charter Authorizing Panel Chair