# Recognition Board of Trustee Meeting Dec. 12, 2017

# **RIVERA ELEMENTARY**

## Fifth grade teacher Alicia Roberson highlighted in Educator Spotlight

Alicia Roberson, a fifth grade math teacher at Rivera Elementary, is finding ways to keep her students engaged in math. From bringing in her alter ego or taking students' thought processes way outside the box, she'll do whatever it takes to get them thinking about numbers. This success has helped Ms. King earn a turn in the Denton ISD Educator Spotlight.

## **DENTON ISD**

# **College Board names top 104 academic students as part of AP, National Merit Scholars Programs**

Denton ISD has a storied history of academic rigor that places our students among the best in the state and nation. Each year the College Board recognizes Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars and National Merit Scholars for their performance on college-level exams and, while there is no monetary gift associated with the award, their scores most often earn students course credit that helps with tuition at some of the country's most prestigious universities.

#### National Merit Honorees

The National Merit Scholarship program identifies the country's academic elite, and is based on a student's performance on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT). Denton ISD has produced 41 National Merit Semi-finalist in the past 15 years.

A member of Guyer High School's Class of 2018 has been chosen out of 1.6 million total entrants to be a semi-finalist scholar in the National Merit Scholarship Program for this year's graduating class.

That student, Andrew Winn, joins a pool of just 7,600 National Merit Semifinalists in the entire country. High school students are selected into the program based on their top scores on the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

More than 34,000 students throughout the nation are recognized for their exceptional academic promise, and deemed commended scholars. Although they will not continue in the competition for further National Merit awards, they place among the top five percent of the students who entered the competition by taking the exam.

The district's Class of 2018 posted 21 commended scholars including:

Braswell High: Jonathan Cox, Aiden Dalrymple, Anna Skaugen;

Denton High: Talha Akram, Leah Beltrone, Madeleine Hall;

**Guyer High:** Katherine Cullen, Luke Erwin, Nathan Gates, Taylor Griswold, Arden Jenkins, Reid Pannell, Christina Paz, Anthony Roth-Giacinto, Evan Ryckebusch, Nicholas Taylor, Meredith Wilder;

Ryan High: Min Cho, Nathan Guy, Ryder Peeters, Janelle Thompson.

The district also had five students who received recognition as National Hispanic Scholars or National Achievement Scholars. They include Citlalli Curiel and Mason Medrano from Braswell High; Kyle Gillispie and Christina Paz from Guyer High; and Katherine Villarreal from Ryan High.

The National Merit program recognizes students that are at-least one-quarter Hispanic or Latino and are among the top 5,000 high scoring individuals on the PSAT/NMSQT exam.

Merit scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college students, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin or religious preference.

The National Merit Scholarship program was founded in 1955 to identify and honor scholastically talented American youth and to encourage them to develop their abilities to the fullest.

#### **AP Scholar Honorees**

The College Board will honor 82 Denton ISD high school students with distinctions for 2018, according to their annual list of recipients who are named Advanced Placement Scholars.

The national program recognizes individuals who have demonstrated college-level achievement though exceptional scores in AP courses and on AP exams. Students are awarded based on four levels including: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with Distinction and National AP Scholar.

Students receive an award certificate from the College Board and although there is no monetary award, this achievement is acknowledged on any score report that is sent to colleges.

#### **AP Scholars**

Students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams. Braswell High: Jonathan Cox, Aiden Dalrymple, Dekonte Pajibo

**Denton High:** Kolt Bundy, Melanie Capone, Steven Chavez, Avery Delost, Haining Liu, Calista Martin, Jazmyn Robles, Amy Sanders, Anna Schmieding, Gabriela Upchurch

**Guyer High:** Morgan Allen, Claire Collins, Caden Coon, Larissa Crow, Mekenzie Erickson, Luke Erwin, Kyle Gillespie, Liam Haber, Anna Laura Harmjanz, Jessica Hoffman, Elise Holder, Hyun-Jae Kim, Cameron Kirby, Justin Koh, Sydney Lovick, Robert Macias, Maya Martin, Alexander pape, Vishvani Patel, Christina Paz, Sophie Ramirez, Maida Rao, Rachel Reed, Jacob Reynolds, Alexander Rodriguez, Landon Rosckes, Anthony Roth-Giacinto, Evan Ryckebusche, Gillian Schafer, Rida Shahdad, Saylor Snowden, Raegan Stubblefield, Grace Yoon

**Ryan High:** Monseo Cho, Allison Essington, Nathan Fortune, Tarrace Herod, Michael Kajihara, Gabriella Mantecon, Brendan McGee

#### **AP Scholars with Honors**

Students who earn an average score 3.25 on all AP exams taken and score of 3 or higher on four or more exams.

Braswell High: Mason Medrano

**Denton High:** Talha Akram, Madeleine Hall, Donna Son, Alyssa Williamson **Guyer High:** Holli Brown, Allison Griffiths, Taylor Griswold, Arden Jenkins, Molly Krinner, Sara Mansoorshahi, Seppe Meuleman, Caleb Rodriguez, David Smith, Rajan Vyas, Carly Wells

Ryan High: Leah Enoch, Nathan Guy, Benjamin Strange

#### **AP Scholars with Distinction**

Students who earn an average score 3.5 on all AP exams taken and score of 3 or higher on five or more exams.

Braswell High: Elyzabeth Graham

Denton High: Leah Beltrone, Hannah Chen, Kesavan Srivilliputhur

**Guyer High:** Liet Bourbon, Nathan Gates, Lauren McKinney, Arik Palileo, Meredith Wilder, Andrew Winn

## **DENTON ISD**

### District recognizes school resource officers (SROs) for their service

The Denton ISD Board of Trustees and Superintendent will recognize the district's School Resource Officers for their service.

The district values the work these individuals put in at the campus level as liaisons to local emergency personnel. These professionals not only keep our students safe, but forge a bond between law enforcement and our neighborhoods. Often times these relationships built on trust and mutual respect lead to lifelong partnerships that foster safer students and safer schools.

These individuals include:

## **Student Resource Officers**

Calhoun – Eric Coulston, Denton PD Crownover – James Harvey Crow, Corinth PD Harpool – Kady Wilkinson, Denton County Sherriff McMath – Derek Bradford, Denton PD Myers – Shane Rodgers, Corinth PD Navo – Rachel St. Peter, Little Elm PD Strickland – Keith Adams, Denton PD Braswell - Chris Daigle, Little Elm PD Denton – Patrick Black, Denton PD Guyer – Rick Howell, Denton PD Ryan – Mark Hodges, Denton PD Sparks – Tracy Oliphant, Denton County