Minutes of Regular Board Meeting August 13, 2024 The Board of Education Unity School District

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Education of Unity School District was held Tuesday, August 13, 2024 beginning at 6:00 PM in the Unity School District Board Room.

1. 6:00 PM Call to Order/Notice of Meeting/Roll Call

Members Present: Debbie Ince-Peterson, Ryan Peterson, Victoria Studtmann, Andrea Jerrick, Mike Haroldson

Members Absent: Jeromy Cox, Jeff Reed

Admin. Team Present: Supt. Zachary Fugate, Kara Holden, Nic Been, Elizabeth Jorgensen, Shawn Fisher, William DeWitt

Others Present: Amanda Warner, Dawn Perkins

2. Approval of the Agenda

Motion to Approve the Agenda by Ryan Peterson. Second by Mike Haroldson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

- Residents' Requests to Speak/Address the Board (Max. of 3 min. Items must be germane to the agenda. Any written comment must be submitted by email to zfugate@unity.k12.wi.us by NOON on Tuesday, August 13, 2024. Such comments will be provided to the Board of Education for consideration and review.) (Board Policy 187 Public Participation at Board Meetings)
 - No comments were received.
- 4. Board of Education Member Update

5. Information

- a. Submitted Reports
 - 1) Administrative Reports
 - a. Elementary Principal Report Dr. William DeWitt
 - b. Middle School Principal Report Mr. Shaun Fisher
 - c. High School Principal Report Mr. Nicolas Been
 - d. Special Education Director Report Ms. Elizabeth Jorgensen
- b. District Administrator's Report Mr. Zachary Fugate
- c. Resignation, Tammy Ince High School Secretary

Motion by Ryan Peterson to approve the resignation of Tammy Ince, High School Secretary with thanks for her years of service to Unity School District.

Second by Andrea Jerrick.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

6. Consent Agenda

- a. Approval of Board of Education Meeting Minutes, July 9, 2024 Regular Board Meeting
- b. Approval of Board of Education Meeting Minutes, July 16, 2024 Special Board Meeting
- c. Approval of Board of Education Meeting Minutes, July 24, 2024 Special Board Meeting Motion to approve items 6.a-6.c by Ryan Peterson. Second by Mike Haroldson.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

 Approval of Elementary/Middle School/High School Activity Accounts Motion to Approve the July 2024 Activity Accounts by Victoria Studtmann. Second by Ryan Peterson. Motion carries by unanimous voice vote. e. Approval of Vouchers

Motion to Approve the July 2024 Vouchers by Victoria Studtmann. Second by Ryan Peterson.

- Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.
- f. Acceptance of Bank Balances Ms. Kara Holden
 - Motion to Receive the July 2024 Financial Report by Andrea Jerrick.
 - Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

g. Personnel

- 1) Consideration and Approval of Various Hires, Retirements, and Resignations, including but not limited to:
 - a. Resignation (Extra Duty), Sara DeWitt High School Girls Basketball Head Coach/Middle School Volleyball Coach

Motion to approve the Resignation of Sara DeWitt, High School Girls Basketball Head Coach/Middle School Volleyball Coach, by Ryan Peterson. Second by Mike Haroldson.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

- b. New Hire, Kathryn Highstrom High School ELA Teacher
- c. New Hire (Extra Duty), Grant Johnson Middle School Football Coach
- New Hire, Sierra Swanson High School Business Education Teacher Motion to approve items 6.g.1 - 6.g.1.b-d by Ryan Peterson. Second by Mike Haroldson. Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

7. Action Agenda

a. Consideration and Approval of the 2024-2025 Eagle Care Club Parent Handbook - *Ms. Amanda Warner* Motion to approve the 2024-2025 Eagle Care Club Parent Handbook by Victoria Studtmann. Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

- b. Consideration and Approval of the 2024-2025 District Staff Handbook *Mr. Zachary Fugate* Motion to approve the 2024-2025 District Staff Handbook with the ability to make changes as needed
 - by Ryan Peterson.

Second by Mike Haroldson.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

8. Adjourn

Motion to adjourn by Victoria Studtmann.

Second by Andrea Jerrick.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote by 6:33 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Andrea Jerrick, School Board Clerk