# MINUTES OF A SPECIAL BOARD MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT 152, COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS, HELD ON THURSDAY, APRIL 27, 2017 AT THE ADMIINSTRATIVE CENTER – 16001 Lincoln HARVEY, ILLINOIS, AT 7:15 P.M.

The Special Board Meeting of the Board of Education was called to order by the President, Gloria Johnson, at 7:15 P.M. on Thursday, April 27, 2017.

**CALL TO ORDER** 

The following were present:

PRESENT: Ms. Rogers, Ms. F. Johnson,

Ms. Hawkins, Mr. Rogers,

Ms. G. Johnson

ABSENT: Ms. B. Johnson, Dr. McCaskill

Other School Officials in attendance were:

PRESENT: Dr. Sonya Whitaker

**Superintendent of Schools** 

Dr. Qunitella Bounds

**Director of Special Services** 

ROLL CALL

**Everyone stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.** 

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

A motion was made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. F. Johnson to approve the Agenda. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. Hawkins, Ms. F. Johnson,

Mr. Rogers, Ms. Rogers

Ms. G. Johnson

NAY: NONE

ABSENT: Ms. B. Johnson, Dr. McCaskill

5 ayes, 2 absent - Motion carried.

**AGENDA APPROVED** 

Dr. Whitaker, Superintendent of Schools read the official votes cast for each candidate on Tuesday, April 4, 2017 from David Orr, Cook County Clerk.

	<u>Votes</u>	<u>Percentage</u>
Myra Gardner	530	13.69%
Kisha McCaskill	437	11.29%
Gloria Johnson	624	16.12%
Casey Alice Nesbit	590	15.24%
Linda M. Hawkins	594	15.34%
Betty Johnson	491	12.86%
Ryan Roman Sinwelski	222	5.73%
Albert Abney	383	9.89%
Total	3,871	100%

This election having been certified for "4 to be elected results in Gloria Johnson, Myra Gardner, Linda Hawkins and Casey A. Nesbit being elected.

A motion was made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. F. Johnson to approve the Adjournment of the Old Board of Education. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. Hawkins, Ms. F. Johnson,

Mr. Rogers, Ms. Rogers,

Ms. G. Johnson

NAY: NONE

ABSENT: Ms. B. Johnson, Dr. McCaskill

5 ayes, 2 absent - Motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT OF THE OLD BOARD OF EDUCATION APPROVED

# REORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Oath of Office was given by Honorable Judge Carl B. Boyd to: Gloria Johnson, Myra Gardner, Casey A. Nesbit and Linda M. Hawkins.

Members present according to roll call:

PRESENT: Ms. G. Johnson,

Ms. L. Hawkins, Ms. Gardner, Ms. Nesbit Ms. Rogers, Ms. F. Johnson, Mr. Rogers A motion was made by Ms. Hawkins and seconded by Ms. Gardner to appoint Ms. Rogers as temporary chair. Roll call vote.

Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins,

Ms. Gardner, Mr. Rogers, Ms. Nesbit, Ms. Rogers

NAY: Ms. F. Johnson

6 ayes, 1 nay - Motion carried.

NOMINATION FOR PRESIDENT

**VOTES FOR MS. ROGERS** 

TEMPORARY CHAIR

Ms. Rogers was nominated by

**Nomination for President:** 

Ms. Gardner and seconded by

Mr. Rogers.

Votes for Ms. J. Rogers

Ms. L. Hawkins - Yes

Mr. Rogers - Yes

Ms. F. Johnson - Nay

Ms. G. Johnson - Yes

Ms. Gardner - Yes

Ms. Rogers - Yes

Ms. Nesbit

6 Ayes, 1 Nay

NOMINATION FOR VICE PRESIDENT

**Nomination for Vice President** 

Ms. Hawkins was nominated by

Ms. Nesbit and seconded by

Ms. Gardner.

Mr. Rogers nominated himself and seconded by Ms. F. Johnson.

Motion for Mr. Rogers died

Votes for Ms. Hawkins

Ms. F. Johnson - Nay

Ms. G. Johnson - Yes

Ms. Nesbit – Yes

Ms. Rogers - Abstain

Ms. Hawkins - Yes

Ms. Gardner - Yes

Mr. Rogers- Nay

4 Yes, 2 Nays, 1 Abstain

**VOTES FOR MS. HAWKINS** 

# **Nominations for Secretary**

# NOMINATIONS FOR SECRETARY

Ms. Casey Nebsit was nominated by

Ms. Hawkins and seconded by

Ms. Gardner.

**Votes for Ms. C. Nesbit** 

Ms. L. Hawkins - Yes

Mr. Rogers - Nay

Ms. F. Johnson - Nav

Ms. G. Johnson - Yes

Ms. Gardner - Yes

Ms. Nesbit - Yes

Ms. Rogers - Yes

5 Ayes, 2 Nays

**VOTES FOR MS. CASEY NESBIT** 

Secretary Nesbit read the following the Committee Appointments:

## **CURRICULUM:**

Casey A. Nesbit (Chairperson)

**Gloria Johnson** 

### PERSONNEL:

**Linda Hawkins (Chairperson)** 

Myra Gardner

### **FINANCE:**

**Tyrone Rogers (Chairperson)** 

**Felicia Johnson** 

# **POLICY:**

Gloria Johnson (Chairperson)

Myra Gardner

### MTSS:

**Tyrone Rogers** 

**FOUNDATION:** 

**Linda Hawkins** 

## SCOPE:

Gloria Johnson

# IASB:

**Janet Rogers** 

**COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS** 

Dr. Whitaker read the Resolution to establish Date, Time, and Place of the Regular Board of Education for the 2017-18 School year. Roll call vote.

RESOLUTION TO ESTABLISH DATE, TIME AND PLACE OF REGULAR BOARD MEETINGS President Rogers stated that the next Regular Board Meeting will be held on Monday, May 15, 2017.

### **NEXT BOARD MEETING**

Helen Randall of Harvey Congratulated the Board of Education.

**AUDIENCE COMMENTS/QUESTIONS** 

Kenneth Henderson of Harvey Congratulated the Board of Education.

Stafford Owens of Harvey Congratulated the Board of Education.

A motion was made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. F. Johnson to adjourn at 7:57 p.m. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins,

Mr. Rogers, Ms. Nesbit, Ms. Gardner, Ms. Hawkins,

Ms. Rogers

**NAY: None** 

7 ayes - Motion carried.

**ADJOURNMENT** 

) a a p a a thuilly a ula mitta d	
Respectfully submitted,	
Secretary	

Approved President