TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES NOON MEETING MINUTES FEBRUARY 10, 2009

The Board of Trustees of the Tupelo Public School District convened in a regular meeting of the Board held in open session at noon on Tuesday, February 10, 2009, at the Hancock Leadership Center, 1920 Briar Ridge, Tupelo, Mississippi.

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President Shawn Brevard who welcomed guests attending the meeting.

ROLL CALL AND ESTABLISHMENT OF A QUORUM

The following School Board members were present during roll call:

Members Present: Mrs. Shawn Brevard

Mr. Mike Clayborne Mrs. Amy Heyer Mr. John Nail Mr. Lee Tucker

Staff Present: Dr. Randy McCoy

Mr. David Meadows
Mrs. Diana Ezell
Dr. George Noflin
Mr. Jim Turner
Mrs. Linda Pannell
Mrs. Dale Warriner
Mrs. Julie Hinds
Mrs. Kay Bishop
Mrs. Jennifer Strunk
Ms. Patrice Tate

III. REVIEW OF AGENDA TOPICS

Board Members and Tupelo Public School District staff members reviewed agenda topics and heard reports in a work session type format for the February 10, 2009, meeting of the Board of Trustees as follows:

- A. Mrs. Diana Ezell Instructional Coaches Progress Report
- B. Mr. Mac Curlee PSAT Preparation Report
- C. Consent Agenda
- D. Student Transfer Report
- E. Personnel Report
- F. Employment of 2009-2010 School Year Administrative Personnel
- G. Docket of Claims

- H. 2009-2010 School Calendar
- I. FY09 Budget Amendment
- J. McKinney-Vento Education for Homeless Children and Youth Program Application FY09

IV. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mrs. Brevard suggested to the School Board a temporary executive session to determine the need for a permanent executive session for the purpose of discussing a student and personnel matter. .

On a motion by Mr. Nail, seconded by Mrs. Heyer, the Board voted unanimously to enter temporary executive session for the purpose of determining a need for permanent executive session. The President of the Board declared the motion passed.

The room was cleared and the temporary executive session was called to order by President Shawn Brevard with the following people present: Mrs. Shawn Brevard, Mr. Mike Clayborne, Mrs. Amy Heyer, Mr. John Nail, Mr. Lee Tucker, Dr. Randy McCoy, Dr. George Noflin and Mr. Larry Harmon.

The Board first considered the reason for entering executive session. Upon a motion by Mr. Nail, a second by Mrs. Heyer, the Board voted unanimously to remain in executive session for the purpose of discussing a personnel and student matter. The President of the Board declared the motion passed.

Mrs. Brevard reopened the meeting to tell all those in attendance the reason for going into executive session was to discuss a personnel and student matter.

Next, the mother of Student #21009 addressed the Board regarding a student matter. After speaking to the Board the mother of Student #21909 left the meeting.

Following a lengthy discussion, on a motion by Mr. Clayborne, seconded by Mr. Tucker, the Board voted unanimously to support and ratify the decision made by the District Discipline Committee and Assistant Superintendent George Noflin in this matter. The President of the Board declared the motion passed.

V. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business at this meeting of the Board of Trustees, it was moved by Mr. Tucker and duly seconded by Mr. Nail that the Board adjourn. Mrs. Brevard declared the meeting in adjournment at 2:25 p.m.

APPROVED:	ATTEST:
TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES	
Shawn Brevard, President	Lee Tucker, Secretary