					AGENDA ITEM		
BOARD OF TRUSTEES AGENDA							
	Workshop	X	Regular		Special		
(A)	Report Only Presenter(s):				Recognition		
	Briefly describe the subje	ct of the repo	rt or recognition	presentation.			
(B)	X Action Item Presenter(s): Ismael Mijares, Deputy Superintendent for Business & Finance Rolando Martinez, Tax Assessor-Collector Briefly describe the action required. CONSIDER AND TAKE APPROPRIATE ACTION ON THE REQUEST TO ADOPT RESOLUTION 2021/22-05 TO VOTE FOR MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE MAVERICK COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT (MCAD).						
(C)	Funding source: Identify	the source of	funds if any are	required.			
(D)	Clarification: Explain any question or issues that might be raised regarding this item. A BOARD OF FIVE (5) DIRECTORS GOVERNS THE MAVERICK COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT. THE EAGLE PASS ISD IS ENTITLED TO 2,588 VOTES AND MAY ELECT UP TO FOUR (4) PERSONS TO SERVE ON THE MAVERICK COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS. EACH NOMINEE REQUIRES A MINIMUM OF 834 VOTES TO BE ELECTED. THE SCHOOL BOARD WILL CAST THEIR VOTES BY WRITTEN RESOLUTION AND SUBMIT IT TO THE CHIEF APPRAISER BY DECEMBER 15, 2021. THE CHIEF APPRAISER WILL THEN DECLARE THE WINNERS. THESE DIRECTORS WILL SERVE A TWO-YEAR TERM BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2022.						

CHIEF APPRAISER Maggie Mata-Duran, RPA

MAVERICK COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD

Lupita Fuentes – Chairperson Yolanda Ramón-Secretary Hilda P. Martinez Christopher Hiller Isidro De Los Santos, IV Jesus Casas

October 27, 2021

Mr. Jorge Barrera President of the Board of Trustees Eagle Pass Independent School District 575 Madison Street Eagle Pass, TX 78852

Dear Mr. Barrera,

Enclosed is the OFFICIAL BALLOT for the selection of five (5) members to the Maverick County Appraisal District Board of Directors. The votes cast should be by written resolution and must be submitted to the Chief Appraiser before December 15, 2021.

If you have any concerns regarding this matter, please contact me at (830) 773-0255.

Sincerely. lit 12

Maggie Mata-Duran, RPA, CCA CHIEF APPRAISER

MMD/bjm

Enclosure



MAVERICK COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT

OFFICIAL BALLOT

2022-2023

BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE MAVERICK COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT (5 to be selected for a 2 year term)

1. ISIDRO DE LOS SANTOS		VOTES
2. LUPITA FUENTES	834	VOTES
3. CHRISTOPHER HILLER	834	VOTES
4. HILDA MARTINEZ	834	VOTES
5. YOLANDA RAMON	86	VOTES

Notes: The minimum votes that a nominee may receive to be appointed are 834.

RESOLUTION 2021/22-05 OF VOTING FOR MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE MAVERICK COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT:

WHEREAS, the Property Tax Code, Chapter 6, Subchapter A, Section 6.03 (k), provides that each taxing unit in a county that is entitled to vote shall determine its vote for members of the board of directors of the county appraisal district by resolution and submit it to the chief appraiser before December 15, and

WHEREAS, the Board of Trustees of the Eagle Pass Independent School District is entitled to vote, and it wishes to vote for members of the Board of Directors of the Maverick County Appraisal District:

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

- 1. All of the above paragraphs are incorporated and made a part of this resolution; and
- 2. The Board of Trustees casts the number of votes indicated for members of the Board of Directors of the Maverick County Appraisal District:

NAME	NUMBER OF VOTES
A. ISIDRO DE LOS SANTOS	0
B. LUPITA FUENTES	834
C. CHRISTOPHER HILLER	834
D. HILDA MARTINEZ	834
E. YOLANDA RAMON	86

- 3. The President of the Board of Trustees is authorized and directed to submit this vote of the Eagle Pass Independent School District to the Chief Appraiser of the Maverick County Appraisal District by delivering a copy of this Resolution to the Chief Appraiser before <u>DECEMBER 15, 2021</u>.
- 4. This Resolution shall become effective from <u>NOVEMBER 09, 2021</u> and after its passage.

On the motion of Trustee, ______ and seconded by Trustee ______ the above Resolution voting for members to serve on the Maverick County Appraisal District was adopted, and it was so ordered. THE STATE OF TEXAS X

COUNTY OF MAVERICK X

I, <u>Hector Alvarez</u>, Secretary of the Board of Trustees of Eagle Pass Independent School District, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of a Resolution presented in written form and passed by a majority vote of the Board of Trustees at the meeting duly posted and noticed under the Texas Open Meetings Act and held on <u>NOVEMBER 09, 2021</u>.

WITNESS MY HAND this the <u>9th</u> day of November, 2021.

Secretary, Board of Trustees Eagle Pass Independent School District

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO AND BEFORE ME this <u>9th</u> day of November, 2021.

Notary Public Eagle Pass, Maverick County, Texas.