DRAFT

Minutes of the December 13, 2021 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on December 13, 2021, at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road. The meeting was called to order by President Nichole Bentley.

Members present: Nichole Bentley, President; Leigh Walker, Vice President; Anthony Hill; Tracy Fisher; and Neena Biswas (arrived 6:02 p.m.)

Trustee Manish Sethi and Trustee David Caviness were not present.

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on December 10, 2021 at 3:00 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Dr. Dennis Womack; Dr. Angie Brooks; Kristen Eichel; Angela Brown; Diana Sircar; Amanda Simpson; Dr. Patricia Dawson, Dr. Anita De La Isla; James Holloway and Michael Gutt

DISTRICT HIGHLIGHTS

- New Tech High @ Coppell Amazon SCOUT Project
- Theatre Accolades
- I Heart CISD Testimonial

AWARDS

- Fall 2021 GEMS (Great Employees Matter)
- 2021 CISD Holiday Card Winner Antariksha Chandra from Valley Ranch Elementary

INVOCATION AND PLEDGE

Nichole Bentley gave the invocation and led the Pledge.

OPEN FORUM

No one came forward to speak in Open Forum.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – SUPERINTENDENT

Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction, Dr. Angie Brooks presented on Student Experience with assistance from Dr. Patricia Dawson, Director of ESL/Bilingual Programs/Pre-Kindergarten and Dr. Anita De La Isla, Director of Language and Literacy.

DRAFT

CONSENT

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve minutes of the regular meeting held on November 29, 2021
- 2. Approve Monthly Budget Amendments for December 2021
- 3. Approve Financial Report for November 2021
- 4. Approve Quarterly Investment report for Period Ending November 30, 2021
- 5. Approve Ed-Flex Schoolwide Eligibility Waiver from Coppell Middle School North, Wilson Elementary, Austin Elementary, Town Center Elementary and Denton Creek Elementary
- 5. Approve the Superintendent's recommendation regarding the employment of professional personnel

Tracy Fisher seconded the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

ACTION

Leigh Walker made a motion to approve the Coppell ISD Remote Asynchronous Instruction Model of learning for 2021-2022. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

Nichole Bentley made a motion to approve to amend the construction contract between Coppell ISD and Northstar Builders Group, LLC to include the Guaranteed Maximum Price of \$5,170,418 as proposed by Northstar Builders Group, LLC for the HVAC replacement and related services for Coppell Middle School North and Denton Creek Elementary School, and to assign \$2,045,418 from the unallocated 2016 bond savings to this project budget. The motion was seconded by Tracy Fisher and passed 5-0.

A motion to adopt the proposed calendars for the 2022-2023 and 2023-2024 school years as presented was made by Anthony Hill. The motion was seconded by Tracy Fisher and passed 5-0.

Nichole Bentley made a motion to approve CISD Administration applying for the 2100-minute staff development waiver for the 2022-2023 and 2023-2024 school years as presented. The motion was seconded by Anthony Hill and passed 5-0.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – BOARD OF TRUSTEES

President Nichole Bentley provided a Safety and Security Committee Update and Anthony Hill spoke regarding the NTAASB (North Texas Area Association of School Boards) November meeting and the Metrocrest Services 50th Anniversary Celebration. A legislative update was given by Tracy Fisher

At 8:10 p.m., President Bentley declared the Board in Closed Session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters.

President Bentley declared the Board in Open Session at 8:41 p.m.

DRAFT

Leigh Walker made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 5-0. The meeting adjourned at 8:41 p.m.

Nichole Bentley, Board President	
Manish Sethi, Secretary	