MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

May 18, 2017

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session May 18, 2017 in the Matthews Student Center – Blue Bonnet Room. Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President
Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice President
Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary
Maria Elena Lara
Victor Lopez
Tony T. Moreno, and
Anita Shackelford

Also present was Dr. Hector Gonzales, President of the College.

The minutes of the April 20, 2017 regular Board Meeting were read and approved as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting, which included college personnel Anne Tarski, Dr. Mark Underwood, Derek Sandoval, Ismael Martinez and Wade Carpenter.

Audience to Patrons: None

President's Report presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales. A copy is attached.

Rodolfo R. Flores presented a 10-year service pin to Anita Shackelford and a 15-year service pin to Tony T. Moreno.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Anita Shackelford to approve the financial statement as of April 30, 2017 as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice President of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to nominate Carl Widner as a Real County Appraisal Board member. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

After convening in open session, Board President Flores called the Board into executive session at 7:55 p.m. to consider:

- A. Personnel matters relative to Tenure recommendations and Professor Rank
- B. Employees: Terminated/Resigned/Retired/New Hires/and Transfers

At 9:05 p.m., the SWTJC Board reconvened in regular session.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to award Tenure to Aubrey Haynes and Assistant Professor Rank to Joshua Overfelt. Motion carried unanimously. Copy is attached.

With no further business or action items to dis	cuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to
adjourn. Dr. Harry O. Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried at 9:06 p.m.	
	-
	_
Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board	
	Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board
	·
Dr. Hector Gonzales, Witness	
,	