Midwest Central Community Unit School District #191 Unit Office, 1010 S Washington St, Manito, IL 61546 Board of Education Committee of the Whole Meeting and Re-Organization of the Board Thursday, May 8, 2025 - 6:30 PM

Board Minutes

I. Call to Order

II. Roll Call

- Melinda Beebe: Present
- Mark Berg: Present
- Steve Bernhardt: Present
- Scott Dierker: Present
- Heather Friedrich: Present
- Amber Schmidt: Present

Tara Zaayenga: Present

III. Visitors Wishing to Address the Board

IV. Announcement of Election Results

I move to the results of the election as presented. This motion, made by Melinda Beebe and seconded by Heather Friedrich, Passed. Yea: 7, Nay: 0

V. Oath of Office

President Berg administered the oath to the new members.

VI. Select a President Pro-Tem for Organization

I move to approve that we appoint Tara Zaayenga as President Pro-Tem. This motion, made by Amber Schmidt and seconded by Melinda Beene, Passed. Yea: 7, Nay: 0

VII. Adjourn "sine die"

I move that the Midwest Central Board of Education adjourn "sine die". This motion, made by Steve Bernhardt and seconded by Amber Schmidt, Passed. Yea: 7, Nay: 0

VIII. Call to Order (President Pro-Tem)

IX. Roll Call

Melinda Beebe: F	Present
------------------	---------

Alyssa Bennett: Present

- Jay Blair: Present
- Scott Dierker: Present
- Heather Friedrich: Present
- Amber Schmidt: Present

Tara Zaayenga: Present

X. Visitors Wishing to Address the Board

XI. Election of President for a Two-Year Term (By President Pro-Tem)

- President Pro-Tem: Nominations are now open for the office of President
- Member Dierker: I nominate Tara Zaayenga
- President Pro-Tem: Tara Zaayenga is nominated
- Member Schmidt: I second Tara Zaayenga for President
- President Pro-Tem calls for an aye, nay vote, Passed. Yea: 7, Nay: 0

• President Pro-Tem: The chair hereby declares Tara Zaayenga elected for a two-year term and directs the recording secretary to so record in the minutes

XII. Election of Vice President

- President takes over here and conducts the election using the same procedure used for the President election.
- President: Nominations are now open for the office of Vice President
- Member Blair: I nominate Member Dierker
- President: Member Dierker is nominated
- Member Schmidt: I second Member Dierker for Vice President
- President Zaayenga calls for an aye, nay vote, Passed. Yea: 7, Nay: 0
- President: The chair hereby declares Member Dierker elected for a two-year term and directs the recording secretary to so record in the minutes

XIII. Election of Secretary

- Same procedure as used for President.
- President: Nominations are now open for the office of Secretary
- Member Schmidt: I nominate Member Friedrich
- President: Member Friedrich is nominated
- Member Beebe: I second Member Friedrich for the office of Secretary
- President Zaayenga calls for an aye, nay vote, Passed. Yea: 7, Nay: 0
- President: The chair hereby declares Member Friedrich elected for a two-year term and directs the recording secretary to so record in the minutes

XIV. Appointments

A. Recording Secretary - Angie Lapsley

I move to appoint Angie Lapsley as the Recording Secretary to the Board of Education. This motion, made by Melinda Beebe and seconded by Amber Schmidt, Passed. Yea: 7, Nay: 0 B. Treasurer - Teresa Burks

I move to appoint Teresa Burks as the School District Treasurer. This motion, made by Scott Dierker and seconded by Melinda Beebe, Passed. Yea: 7, Nay: 0

XV. Meeting Dates and Times

I move to approve the meeting dates and time for the 2025-26 school year as the 3rd Wednesday of every month at 6:30pm. This motion made by Alyssa Bennett and seconded by Jay Blair, Passed. Yea: 7, Nay: 0.

XVI. Adjourn

I move to adjourn the Committee of the Whole meeting at 7:16 PM. This motion, made by Heather Friedrich and seconded by Amber Schmidt, Passed. Yea: 7, Nay: 0

XVII. The next meeting is May 15, 2025 at 6:30 PM at the Unit Office

President:	

Secretary: _____