ALEDO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING June 16, 2014

MINUTES

BOARD MEETING

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Aledo Independent School District was held on Monday, June 16, 2014, beginning at 7:00 P.M. in the Aledo I.S.D. Board Room with the following members present: President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Steve Bartley, Bobby J Rigues, Hoyt Harris and Dr. David Tillman.

AGENDA

President Jay Stringer called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.

President Jay Stringer determined a quorum was present at this time.

Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, led everyone in the pledges of allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags.

Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, reported on several District events including a special board meeting to be held on June 30 to hear a report and recommendation from the 2025 Committee, a review of the 2014-15 school calendar will take place to address Memorial Day absenteeism, and announce the Hyles teacher attendance awards. Winners will receive a check for \$250 for their great attendance. Award winners were:

Fall Semester:
Joey Qualls
Michael Robinson
John Harper
Susan Jones
Dave Marcath
Regina Carlson
Joe Roquemore
Mike Pinkerton
Dana Burke
Derek Vierling

Spring Semester: Susan King Jake Albin Doug Wheeler Jessica Claffey Mike Pinkerton Tori Bolding Margie Crutchfield Michael Robinson Jeff Lemons Crystal Mehrhoff

Mrs. Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent, and Dr. David Tillman, presented the commendations to the UIL Academic winners in Computer Applications, Spelling and Vocabulary.

Mr. Hoyt Harris reported that the Education Foundation Golf Tournament was a success and \$40,000 was raised. Summer planning is underway for a new campaign next year.

President Jay Stringer opened the floor for Public Comment and there were none.

A motion was made by Mr. Bobby Rigues, seconded by Mr. Johnny Campbell, to approve the May 19 and 28, 2014 Minutes, the Monthly Financial Report, and the budget amendment related to bond refunding on the Consent Agenda as presented by administration.

Motion was:

) AGAINST

President Jay Stringer introduced administrative report items:

~ Strategic Plan / Goal Update for 2013-14 – Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, presented the completed goals report for the 2013-14 school year.

A motion was made by Dr. David Tillman, seconded by Mr. Bobby Rigues, to approve the replacement of staff computers by lease as presented by administration.

Motion was:

6 FOR

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Steve Bartley, seconded by Mr. Johnny Campbell, to approve the 2014-2015 Transportation Hazardous Zones as presented by administration.

Motion was:

6 FOR

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Mr. Dr. David Tillman, seconded by Mr. Hoyt Harris, to approve the 2014-2015 Child Nutrition Meal Prices as presented by administration.

Motion was:

6 FOR

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Mr. Steve Bartley, seconded by Mr. Hoyt Harris, to approve Region XI Contracts for 2014-2015 as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOR

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Mr. Hoyt Harris, seconded by Mr. Johnny Campbell, to approve out of state travel for the Purcussive Arts Society students to attend the International competition in Indianapolis, Indiana as presented by administration.

Motion was:

6 FOR

0 AGAINST

At 8:20 P.M., the Board was called into executive session by President Jay Stringer, after citing Texas Government Code Sections 551.074, and 551.071to discuss personnel, and items under consultation with the school attorney.

The meeting was declared in open session by President Jay Stringer at 9:30 P.M. with no action taken.

A motion was made by Mr. Steve Bartley, seconded by Dr. David Tillman, to approve Mr. David Sweeney as the Assistant Principal to be shared between Vandagriff Elementary and McAnally Intermediate and Ms. Holly Elgin as the full time Assistant Principal at McAnally Intermediate as presented by administration.

Motion was:

6 FOR

0 AGAINST

Trustee Comments/Acknowledgements – President Jay Stringer reminded the Board to meet Wednesday afternoon to depart for San Antonio to attend the Summer Leadership Academy.

President Jay Stringer adjourned the meeting at 9:32 P.M.

SECRETARY		PRESIDENT	
	APPROVED	, 2014.	