# Minutes of the June 24, 2019 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on June 24, 2019, at 6:00 p.m. at the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road, Coppell, Texas. The meeting was called to order by President Thom Hulme at 6:00 p.m.

Members present: Thom Hulme, President; David Caviness, Vice President; Nichole Bentley, Secretary; Manish Sethi; Anthony Hill; Thom Hulme and Tracy Fisher.

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on June 20, 2019 at 10:45 a.m.

At 6:00 p.m., President Hulme declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (Personnel Matters).

President Hulme declared the Board in Open Session at 7:03 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Sid Grant; Diana Sircar; Kristen Streeter; Dr. Angie Applegate; Kelly Mires; Kathy Creek; Jennifer Villines; and Amanda Simpson.

#### **ACTION**

Anthony Hill made a motion to accept the new hires as recommended by the Superintendent. David Caviness seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Anthony Hill to approve hiring Angela Brown for the position of Executive Director of Communications and Community Engagement as recommended by the Superintendent. The motion was seconded by Manish Sethi. The motion carried 7-0.

#### **DISTRICT HIGHLIGHTS**

Superintendent Hunt provided the following District Highlights in Coppell ISD:

- A. Austin Elementary and New Tech High @ Coppell designated as 2019 Schools Transforming Learning (SLT) Campuses
- B. Wilson Elementary named Great Expectations School
- C. Article by Dr. Linda Cook and Malachi Ewbank published by the *Journal of Higher Education Theory and Practice*

### **AWARDS**

- A. CMS West Student, Rohan Raja, competed at Scripps National Spelling Bee
- B. 30 Year Service Award Janell Thach, First Grade Teacher (Austin Elementary)
- C. 30 Year Service Award Diane de Waal, Social Studies Teacher (Coppell High School)
- D. 35 Year Service Award Kim Pearce, English AP Coordinator (Coppell High School)
- E. Leigh Walker completes Leadership TASB Program and earns Master Trustee Designation

Board President, Thom Hulme, exercised point of privilege to recognize Kay Ryon's retirement after 29 years of service to Coppell ISD.

Thom Hulme gave the Invocation and led the Pledge.

#### **OPEN FORUM**

The following individuals addressed the Board of Trustees during the Open Forum section of the meeting:

Luke Albright and Roma Mazumadar - Coppell-One Million Meals/Feed My Starving Children Carrie Clark - Coppell Gifted Association Creative Writing Competition

#### DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – SUPERINTENDENT

Gretchen Crichton and Carrie Clark gave an update on the School Health Advisory Council (SHAC)

Associate Superintendent, Sid Grant provided a 2016 Bond Project Update Chief Financial Officer, Diana Sircar discussed 2019-2020 Budget Update which included information regarding House Bill 3 School Finance Reform, Full-Time Employee compensation and Fast Growth district funding.

#### **CONSENT**

David Caviness made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on May 20, 2019; and special Board meeting held on June 10, 2019
- 2. Approve monthly 2018-2019 Budget Amendments
- 3. Approve Financial Report for May 2019
- 4. Approve Investment Report for period ending May 31, 2019
- 5. Approve entering into two new Purchasing Cooperatives
- 6. Approve authorization to negotiate and enter into contract with vendors recommended for award of RFPs

- 7. Approve Memorandum of Understanding regarding Dallas County Juvenile Justice Alternative Education Program (DCJJAEP)
- 8. Approve Memorandum of Understanding between Coppell ISD and the Coppell Education Foundation

Manish Sethi seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

#### **ACTION**

Nichole Bentley made a motion to approve revisions to Board Policy FDB (LOCAL): Admissions – Intradistrict Transfers and Classroom Assignments, as presented. Manish Sethi seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

A motion to approve revisions to Board Policy DEC (LOCAL): Compensation and Benefits – Leaves and Absences, as presented, was made by Tracy Fisher and seconded by David Caviness. The motion passed 7-0.

A motion was made by Nichole Bentley and seconded by David Caviness to approve the recommended pay increases as presented. (This is a 3% raise of mid/control point for employees except for teachers, librarians and nurses who will receive an \$1800 increase. Beginning teacher pay for 187 contract will be \$54,600 for 2019-2020.) The motion carried 7-0.

Nichole Bentley read a Resolution for the 2019-2020 Employee Compensation Plan and made a motion that it be approved. Manish Sethi seconded the motion. The motion passed.

Manish Sethi nominated Nichole Bentley to serve as an official voting delegate to the 2019 TASB Delegate Assembly. The nomination was seconded by Tracy Fisher. The Board voted 7-0 in favor of the nomination.

Nichole Bentley nominated Manish Sethi to serve as alternate delegate to the 2019 TASB Delegate Assembly. David Caviness seconded the nomination. The Board voted 7-0 in favor of the nomination.

#### DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – BOARD OF TRUSTEES

A legislative update by given by Tracy Fisher

Anthony Hill provided updates of the TASB Summer Leadership Institute, Digital Learning Conference, and North Texas Area Association of School Boards (NTAASB) planning meeting.

Safety and Security Committee meeting updates were provided by Nichole Bentley.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Leigh Walker made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Manish Sethi seconded the motion. The

motion carried 7-0.	
The meeting adjourned at 10:13 p.m.	1.
	Thom Hulme, Board President
	Nichole Bentley, Secretary