MINUTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL MEETING

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

SMITHVILLE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

Notice is hereby given that a Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Smithville Independent School District was held on Monday, January 8, 2024 beginning at 6:00 PM at the Smithville ISD Administrative Building, PO Box 479, 901 N.E. 6th Street, Smithville, Texas 78957.

Members present:	Grant Gutierrez, Michael Hancock, Alan Hemphill, Chris Hinnant, Josh
	Magden, Candice Parsons, Nancy Towry
Others present:	Whitney Brown, Jean Ann McCarthy, Jim Dixon, Noel McCarthy, Hattie
	Witherspoon, Kelly Hollingshead, Chris Hanchey, Helen Fleck, Jerry
	Fleck, Mary Ann Watson, Rebecca Hamilton, Cyril Adkins, Michael
	Caudill, Chelsa Vinklarek, Megan Hancok, Dwight Stockton, Becky
	Watson, Kimmie Brummer, Charles James, Ashley Cook, Logan Cook,
	Margarita Igoe, Erik McCowan, Trish Kubena, Ann Wilson, Lisa Wilson,
	Charlesetta Duncan, Cyril Adkins, Charlesetta Duncan, Stacia Coronado,
	Frank Buentello, Cat Coronado, Dianna King, Wayne King, Cheryl Burns,
	Denise Behrens

<u>**Call to Order**</u> – The Board President called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Roll Call – The Board President called the roll of members. All were present.

<u>**Public Communications**</u> – The Board heard from Dwight Stockton regarding his view of the status of the current athletic program. They also heard from Margarita Igoe and Erik McCowan encouraging school safety, increased communication, and transparency of the district.

Closed Session – The Board moved to closed session at 6:11 p.m. and returned at 7:55 p.m. with no official action taken.

Adjournment – Alan Hemphill moved to adjourn the special meeting. Josh Magden seconded and the motion passed 7-0. The meeting adjourned at 7:55 p.m.