AT A SPECIAL WORKSHOP MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE SOUTH FORTY BANQUET HALL, ADJACENT TO THE BARN DOOR, 2410 ANDREWS HWY, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 12:00 P.M., MAY 29, 2013, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present:

<u>Absent</u>:

Ray Beaty, D.C.
Dr. Steve Brown
Teri Ervin
Luis Galvan
Nelson Minyard
Dr. Donna C. Smith
Dovle Woodall

School Officials: H.T. Sanchez, David Finley, Carolyn Gonzalez, David Harwell, Wendy

Hines, Damon Jackson, Brian Moersch, Raul Moreno, Todd Vesely

Others:

Terry Abbott, Tracy Taylor, Staci Ashley, Fay Batch, Rebecca Mull, Crystal Castillo, Pilar Moreno-Recio, Carla Byrne, Rudy Guevara, Gregory Nelson, Karen Howard-Winters, Selina Chapa, Sylvia Garcia, Lisa Wills, Adrian Vega, Josias Vertiz, Gloria Baumstimler, Misty Miller, Trudy Lewis, Pamela Jimenez, Jane Boles, Bridgette Meyers, Luis Maela, Rainy Green, Adrian Escajeda, Brooks Landgraf, Dan Hart, Hazzel Ramos, Rachel Juarez-Torres, Lindsay Weaver, Jeff Woltz, Jacqui Gore, Lettie England, Lee Anna Good, Les Littlejohn, Ryan Longino, Chuck Isner, Micah Arrott, Renée Earls, Yolanda Ramirez, Mariann Bagley, Monica Baeza, Jeff Meyers, Mike George, Javier Ruiz, Libby Campbell, Celeste Potter, John Landgraf, Nicholas Williams, James Parks, Courtney Ramos, Crystal Press, Lorraine Perryman, Tatum Fulbright, Wanda Bamberg, Grayson Hankins, Tristan Specter, Kellie Wilks, Sharon Cannon, Phyllis Calzada, Ysmael Lujan, Gabriela Granado, Mauricio Marquez, Joanna Hadjicostandi, Marsha Sowell, David Boutin, Greta Black, Claudia Lopez, Diane Acosta, Sheila Denton, Debbie Gibbs, Dr. Tara Deaver. Mike Atkins, Mike Adkins, Rosa Mendoza, Mary Franco

- **<u>22057</u>** Meeting Called to Order: Ray Beaty, D.C., Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 12:09 p.m.
- **<u>Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law</u>**: Ray Beaty, D.C., Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- <u>Strategic Planning Discussion</u>: During a four hour strategic planning session nearly 100 people gathered to discuss how ECISD should plan for the next five years. Four guest speakers made the trip to Odessa to give 30 minute presentations on the four strategies based on their expertise. Each presentation was followed by 30 minute question-guided discussions among groups of

administrators, teachers, students, ECISD current and former board members, members from various chambers, community and District organizations.

Wanda Bamberg, Aldine Independent School District Superintendent addressed Curriculum and Professional Development; Dr. Selina Chapa, Aldine ISD Human Resources Director addressed Building a Quality Staff; Terry Abbott, former Houston Independent School District press secretary addressed Engaging the Community; Dr. Cathy Mincberg, President and CEO of Centers for Reform of School Systems (CRSS) addressed 21st Century Facilities.

Comments and suggestions from each group will be pulled together to be used in the next step of the planning process. Four committees will be formed to help develop the strategic plan for ECISD.

No action required.

22060 Adjournment: Ray Beaty D.C., Board President, adjourned the Special Board Workshop at 4:05 p.m.

Board President	Board Secretary
Ray Beaty, D.C.	Dr. Donna Smith