GENEVA COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER 304 227 NORTH FOURTH STREET, GENEVA, ILLINOIS RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS OF A REGULAR SESSION OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Board of Education of Community Unit School District Number 304 met in a regular session on Monday, May 5, 2015, at 6:00 p.m. at Williamsburg Elementary School, 1812 Williamsburg Avenue, Geneva, Illinois

- CALL TO ORDER President Mark Grosso
 - 1.1 Roll Call
 - 1.2 Welcome
 - 1.3 Pledge
 - 1.4 Reminder to sign attendance sheet

The meeting was called to order at 6:01 p.m. by President Grosso.

Board members present: Leslie Juby, David Lamb, Mike McCormick, Vice President Kelly Nowak, Policy Committee Chair Mary Stith, Finance Committee Chair Bill Wilson, President Mark Grosso.

Late: None. Absent: None.

The President welcomed everyone and led them in the Pledge.

District administrators present: Kristy Poteete-Kriegermeier, Communications Coordinator; Dr. Kent Mutchler, Superintendent

Others present: Madi Juby, Jessica McCormick, Madeleine Nowak, Claire Nowak, Alexander Nowak

2. PUBLIC COMMENTS

None.

BOARD OF EDUCATION REORGANIZATION – President Mark Grosso

3.1 Accept Kane County Clerk's Abstract of Votes for the April 7, 2015, Election of Members for the Board of Education

The Abstract of Votes reported that votes for members of the Board of Education for Geneva Community Unit School District 304 were are follows: Kelly Nowak, 1668; Taylor R. Egan, 1115; Mary Stith, 1571; Evelyn Schneider, 553; Michael T. McCormick, 1503; Tina B. Yagla, 1085; Ann E. Murtaugh, 961.

Motion by Lamb, second by Juby, to accept the abstract of votes for the April 7, 2015 Election of members for the board of education, as presented. On roll call, Ayes, seven (7), Juby, Lamb, McCormick, Nowak, Stith, Wilson, Grosso. Nays, none (0). Motion carried unanimously.

Michael T. McCormick, Kelly Nowak and Mary Stith having received the highest number of votes will fill the three, four-year terms that were up for election.

3.2 Oath of Office and Seating of New Board Members

The President administered the Oath of Office to newly elected members McCormick, Nowak and Stith. Following the oath, the newly elected members were welcomed and took their places at the Board table.

3.3 Election of Officers

Current President Grosso served as the president pro tempore until the board elected a permanent president.

The president pro tempore explained the process for nominations and voting. Any member can make a nomination, including self-nominations. Nominations do not require a second. Election of

an officer requires a majority of those voting. Voting occurs during an open meeting and must not be by secret ballot. Voting can be by a show of hands, or a voice vote in which each member has an opportunity to vote "yes" or "no" for the nominated candidate. If two or more members are nominated for an office, the member receiving a majority of the votes cast is elected. He asked if the members wanted a show of hands or a roll call voice vote. It was the unanimous consensus of the members to use a roll call voice vote.

For the office of president, Wilson nominated Grosso. There were no other nominations. Second by Lamb. On roll call, Ayes, seven (7), Juby, Lamb, McCormick, Nowak, Stith, Wilson, Grosso. Nays, none (0). Grosso was unanimously elected to serve as president and assumed the position and continued the election process for the remaining offices of the board.

For the office of vice president, Stith nominated Nowak. There were no other nominations. Second by Juby. On roll call, Ayes, seven (7), Juby, Lamb, McCormick, Nowak, Stith, Wilson, Grosso. Nays, none (0). Nowak was unanimously elected to serve as vice president.

The President noted that traditionally, the Superintendent has served as Secretary to the Board and the Assistant Superintendent of Business Services has served as Treasurer.

For the office of secretary, Wilson nominated Superintendent Mutchler. There were no other nominations. Second by Juby. On roll call, Ayes, seven (7), Juby, Lamb, McCormick, Nowak, Stith, Wilson, Grosso. Nays, none (0). Superintendent Mutchler was unanimously elected to serve as the board secretary.

For the office of treasurer, Wilson nominated Assistant Superintendent Oberg. There were no other nominations. Second by Nowak. On roll call, Ayes, seven (7), Juby, Lamb, McCormick, Nowak, Stith, Wilson, Grosso. Nays, none (0). Assistant Superintendent Oberg was unanimously elected to serve as treasurer.

3.4 Adopt 2015-2016 Board Meeting Calendar

Motion by Juby, second by McCormick, to adopt the preliminary 2015-2016 meeting calendar draft, as presented. On roll call, Ayes, seven (7), Juby, Lamb, McCormick, Nowak, Stith, Wilson, Grosso. Nays, none (0). Motion carried unanimously.

It was noted that the meeting calendar may be amended to add or change meeting dates as appropriate and that board members should keep Monday nights open to accommodate changes or the need for special meetings.

3.5 Review Committee & Liaison Assignments

It was decided that the Board would review their committee and liaison assignments and let the President know if they would like to make any changes from their current assignments. The President will discuss these and bring them back to the entire Board at a later meeting.

4. ADJOURNMENT

At 6:13 p.m., motion by Wilson, second by Juby, and with unanimous consent, the meeting was adjourned.

APPROVED	PRESIDENT
SECRETARY	RECORDING
	SECRETARY